No Defensewall, GeSWall, Sandboxie, Appguard on 64-bit systems - What can you use?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by InfinityAz, Jul 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    Since you can't run Sandboxie, Defensewall, GeSWall, or AppGuard on 64-bit systems:

    What can you run on a 64-bit system that provides similar protection to the software mentioned above?
     
  2. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Re: No Defensewall, GeSWall, Sandboxie, Appguard on 64-bit systems - What can you use


    Use OS-internals, see http://blogs.technet.com/richard_macdonald/archive/2007/05/18/990366.aspx and http://www.windowsecurity.com/articles/Protecting-System-Files-UAC-Virtualization-Part2.html, see also http://www.cs.fsu.edu/~breno/CIS-5930/slides/class07.ppt (direct download). Another way is to hack something in the header of the executable to ensure it starts visualised

    Edit 1: since spawned processes inherite the rights of their parent, you could exclude bat or script files (via the registry hack) and virtualise them this way.

    Edit 2: Using Chrome or Iron (Portable preferably) with its own Sandbox, you are pretty safe.

    Edit 3: KIS and Zone Alarm ForceField seem to work on 64 bits

    Edit 4: HauteSecure (now gone and giving problems with Vista Sp2) was the only one for 64 bits protection (called soft sandboxing, like AppGuard does)
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2009
  3. 3xist

    3xist Guest

    Comodo Internet Security.
     
  4. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    Re: No Defensewall, GeSWall, Sandboxie, Appguard on 64-bit systems - What can you use

    so CIS now has a sandbox/rights restriction ability now?... o_O
     
  5. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,214
    Re: No Defensewall, GeSWall, Sandboxie, Appguard on 64-bit systems - What can you use

    DeepFreeze (recommended), Anti-Executable V3 (I'm trialling with x32 Vista, but it runs on x64), First Defense PC Rescue.
     
  6. 3xist

    3xist Guest

    Re: No Defensewall, GeSWall, Sandboxie, Appguard on 64-bit systems - What can you use

    Oops. Didn't read that part. :oops: Thinking of v4... :)

    Cheers,
    Josh
     
  7. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Re: No Defensewall, GeSWall, Sandboxie, Appguard on 64-bit systems - What can you use

    Speaking of which, do you've any plans on when to release it or so, and will it include my wished "Smart Mode"? :D
     
  8. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    Re: No Defensewall, GeSWall, Sandboxie, Appguard on 64-bit systems - What can you use

    what do u mean by "smart mode"?
     
  9. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Re: No Defensewall, GeSWall, Sandboxie, Appguard on 64-bit systems - What can you use

    Josh knows the details, not me, but it's basically that CIS is able to make decisions by itself for all its components, greatly reducing pop-ups and prompts for the user. This is something which suits me.
     
  10. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    Re: No Defensewall, GeSWall, Sandboxie, Appguard on 64-bit systems - What can you use

    hmm sounds interesting
     
  11. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    Re: No Defensewall, GeSWall, Sandboxie, Appguard on 64-bit systems - What can you use

    from what I read v4 will arrive at the end of 2009,beginning of 2010.
     
  12. 3xist

    3xist Guest

    Hi Raven,

    I'm not aware that "Smart Mode" will CERTAINLY be included in v4. However, It was introduced to the Comodo Forum Moderators by Egemen (Lead Developer of CIS) when v3.9 was in beta.

    I would say version 4... But we will see first. As Andyman said, v4 is scheduled end of the year or beginning of 2010. Current CIS version is the last version of the v3 series... It's all v4 now.

    Cheers,
    Josh
     
  13. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    Any "New" Suggestions/Additions?

    Thanks in Advance.
     
  14. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
  15. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
  16. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Spyware Terminator is coming out with a 64 bit version for its Real Time Shield so we can have HIPS on 64bit soon. :)
     
  17. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,190
    Location:
    USA,IA

    yup sometime this Jan. will be beta :thumb:
     
  18. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    are they going to be using same antivirus engine?
     
  19. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,190
    Location:
    USA,IA
    yes, Clamav, useless you know of a opensource AV that better they would use that but right now Clamav is the best open AV i think not sure.
     
  20. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i see:) the best thing of SpyWare Terminator is the hips shield;)
     
  21. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,190
    Location:
    USA,IA

    i agree if ST doesn't catch it the HIPS for sure will.

    i have yet to see anything at alll get past the HIPS in ST.
     
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    cool application:thumb:
     
  23. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,190
    Location:
    USA,IA
    yeah i do offer a 'Game Mode' which just stop popups but not protection.

    also with 'Deny Mode' it makes ST just like AppGuard no new applaction can start.
     
  24. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    and does it have pasword protection?
     
  25. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Your best bet is ShadowDefender 64 bit. Use it along side MBAM or Hitman Pro for any files or documents you want to exclude. You really dont need a real time scanner with it as MBAM or Hitman Pro will scan those areas excluded before you reboot just to be sure. I am amazed more 64 bit users just dont use this setup.

    MBAM is free but not as encompassing as Hitman Pro. To me is is the most logical and sensible solution for 64 bit that I have found. Spyware Terminator and Forcefield just plain suck. Sorry but its true. And dont even get me started on Comodo. Proper name though.:cautious:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.