NFTS different in W7

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by emmjay, Jan 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    879
    Location:
    Triassic
    I have read that NFTS is a little bit different in W7 then it was in XP and Vista. Is this true? How does this impact putting multiple system backups on one external mega HD?

    I backed up my Vista system on an external HD for many years but it went casters up a few days ago. Also I have had an ext HD for many years for my XP backups that only support USB 1.1 ports. Its life expectancy has exceeded my expectations, but I am concerned that due to its age it may expire any day.

    I have been using Paragon Drive Backup 10 Pro for Vista, XP and W7.

    I purchased a new WD Passport Elite 500GB & was looking at putting my Vista, XP and W7 backups on the same drive using PDB10. I will not be using the built in smartware software for backups (weird stuff!). If I do this will I be able to recover the backup for all 3 systems?

    Anything I should heed prior to doing this? NB: I have already put a full image of my W7 on the external HD.
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    879
    Location:
    Triassic
    Thank you Cudni. I read through the link but it appears to relate more to having XP (or Vista) on a single HD with the ability to read from each on a W7 system. That's how I read it.

    To backup each OS onto my ext HD, I will have to connect it to each of the systems to do the backup. I was concerned that since I started on the backup process on W7, the whole HD is seen as a NFTS W7 created drive. When I backup the other systems will the backup be true? Will the restore work for each of the systems?
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    If you want to be sure maybe partition and format one of them via XP ?
     
  5. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    879
    Location:
    Triassic
    Tnx for the idea. I will give it a shot.
     
  6. Xarx

    Xarx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Posts:
    14
    Win7 NTFS supports e.g. symbolic links, while that in WinXP does not. However, how does this impact backups, I don't know.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.