Newer Virus samples, escaping most scanners

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by dan_maran, Mar 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dan_maran

dan_maran Registered Member

Newer Malware, escaping most scanners

Ok, first off I am no expert in this field, nor do I claim to be. But for the last few days I have been "surfing without protection" and I picked up a few nasties along the way which as you all will be able to see by the screens escaped most scanners, yes even Kaspersky. I am in the process of submitting them as I type this.
    I am only going to post the screens of the Virus total scans as they are roughly the same as Jotti's. I did scan some more files but you all get the picture, be careful!
    Just some food for thought.

http://www.zer0-tec.net/likuidkewl/22mar/vscan01-22mar.png
    http://www.zer0-tec.net/likuidkewl/22mar/vscan02-22mar.png
    http://www.zer0-tec.net/likuidkewl/22mar/vscan03-22mar.png

And yes Avast missed them all. :(

Last edited: Mar 23, 2005
  2. bellgamin

bellgamin Registered Member

@ likuidkewl- Interesting & disturbing data. Thanks for posting it.

@ All- I note that Sybari did well in these 3 cases. Is it true that Sybari has been bought by Microsoft? Is the Sybari AV available for trial & purchase? Does anyone here have experience &/or further information concerning this relatively unknown AV?

3. fredra

fredra Registered Member

If I am not mistaken...Sybari was bought by Microsoft, however, it is for the "enterprise" versions. I am not sure IF or WHEN Microsoft will begin rolling out their version OR if it will be available for the SOHO home user.
    As noted here
    Hope that helps
    Cheers :)

4. ncs_

ncs_ Guest

Sybari donot produce AntiVirus for Desktop.
    However, they actually licensed 8 AV Engines in their products (E-Mail Gateway Products)

5. VikingStorm

VikingStorm Registered Member