Newbie True Image Question/Drive Copying

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ghillix, Nov 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ghillix

    ghillix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    I want to clone a hard drive to an identical drive I have in my system. I am running Win XP SP 1 and True Image 8(latest version). I want to clone the drive to create a full backup, but I don't want to hide the source drive and switch to the destination drive after the copy is done(much like Norton Ghost or Drive Image allows you to do). Is that possible with TI 8? The help files all seem refer to installing a new HD and switching to it.

    TIA!
     
  2. Ozmaniac

    Ozmaniac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Posts:
    254
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Hi Ghillix,

    Many people become confused as to the difference between cloning and imaging.

    Cloning should be used when you want to migrate to a new HDD, usually because the other drive is larger or your old one is on its last legs or something like that.

    What you need to do is to take a full image of your source drive and store it on the destination drive as a .tib image file. Make sure that you check the top box when selecting the source for the image to ensure that the entire disk is backed up including your MBR. You will be able to restore the image from the destination drive when you need to do so. Unlike when you clone, your source drive will still be available exactly as it was before you took the image. :cool:
     
  3. ghillix

    ghillix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    O.K. That clears it up. I opened TrueImage and selected the Create Image function and selected all of Disk 1 and the 3 partitions(C,D,E) to copy to Disk 2. In the Create Image Wizard, the NTFS(C) partition has a red circle with an X in it next to the drive letter. When I right click on it a properties list comes up and when I click on "errors" it says, "File System Error: Runlist Corrupted" without the quotes. My system runs fine, boots up with no problems or warnings....should I just ignore this error and go ahead with the image? If not, any ideas on how to correct it? Do I need to run chkdsk or scandsk?

    TIA!
     
  4. ghillix

    ghillix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    I ran the file system and chkdsk checks on the C: partition using the tools in My Computer(rebooted and they kicked off and ran clean). It checked the file system and did a file, index, security descriptor, file data and free space verification with no errors. So, I don't know what True Image is complaining about. Anyone know what the file system runlist is? There's nothing in the MS knowledge base about it.
     
  5. Ozmaniac

    Ozmaniac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Posts:
    254
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Sorry, I don't know what the red circle and X mean - it should have a green tick beside each partition if you checked the top left hand box for that disk.

    Someone else??:cool:
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ghillix,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    In addition to what Ozmaniac has said regarding the difference between Clone Disk and Backup approaches, I would also recommend you to take a look at this FAQ article explaining the situation.

    Please also note that you can find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis True Image in the respective User's Guide.

    What concerns the "red circle with the X in it" which is shown next to the system partition name, it means that Acronis True Image has found some file system errors on your system partition or detected an unsupported partition type.

    Please check each partition of your hard drive by Windows utility in the way described below:

    - Go to Windows menu Start\Run;

    - Enter the command "chkdsk c: /r" "chkdsk d: /r" for every partition of your hard drive;

    Please note that you will need to reboot your computer in order to scan the system partition.

    If that does not help then please download the latest version of Acronis drivers for Acronis True Image 8.0, install it with disabled logging and see if the problem still persists.

    If the problem still persists then enable logging by running the Acronis drivers installation package once again, reproduce the problem and collect the c:\snapapi.log file.

    Please also create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  7. ghillix

    ghillix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    I set up Disk 2 as my Acronis Protected Zone and copied all of Disk 1 to it using the Create Image wizard. No problems. I had already gone to My Computer, C drive, properties, tools, error checking, and checked automatically fix file system errors and scan for and recover bad sectors, rebooted and it ran both the file system checks and chkdsk /r with no errors. C: was the only partition TI what complaining about.
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2005
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.