Newbie Restore Problem

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by danny2000, Jun 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. danny2000

    danny2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I apologize for this newbie question, but I have been reading the forums and even checked out the information by GroverH.

    I just started using Acronis True Image Home 2009 (boxed version) on an XP SP3 computer.

    I created a full Disk Image onto a USB external hard drive. After completion, I validated the backup. I also used the One Click option to make another copy.

    From within Windows using the Acronis interface, when I try to restore the image, all goes well until the end when I am notified that the system must reboot. I accept the reboot option and then get a message (that I forgot to write down) that the reboot failed. Something about "boot.wiz".

    Is this enough info for anyone to tell me what I am missing?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    I don't know the reason for the error, but try making the bootable Rescue CD, boot with it and try the restore from its menu. In case of hard drive failure this is how you will have to recover anyway. So you need to know now that it will work rather than find, when its too late, that it doesn't.
     
  3. danny2000

    danny2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks for the quick response DwnNdrty.

    Since I purchased the boxed version, the CD is marked as "bootable".

    Can I assume that is the same thing as the bootable Rescue CD?
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    The retail CD should be the same. The main difference will be if it's an older build. However, you can certainly try it and see if it works on your computer.
     
  5. danny2000

    danny2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I'll try both both the Boxed CD and making a bootable CD.

    When I get back to that computer in a few hours I'll let you know my results.

    Thanks a lot for all your help.
     
  6. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    No need to make one if what you have is the boxed CD. What you need to do, though, is register on the Acronis website then check to see if you have the latest build. If not you can then download the latest build, install it, and then make the Rescue CD - it will then be a CD of the latest build.
     
  7. danny2000

    danny2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Understood.

    Thanks for the suggestion.

    I'll let you know how it works out.

    (At some point I shall explore further as to why it would not work from within Windows - I've read and re-read the PDF user guide and don't see this "boot.wiz" issue listed at all.)
     
  8. dclkdm

    dclkdm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    Test if it is really bootable and make a rescue cd anyway as an extra.

    The latest ATI 2009 dutch version comes with a CD that isn't bootable, 'cause the supplier, Easy Computing, thought it a good idea to put their logo on start up.
     
  9. danny2000

    danny2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I am happy to report that the "Boxed" CD was bootable and I was able to re-image my computer in about 8 minutes!

    I will take the advice given here and check for updates and also make an extra rescue CD.

    When time permits, I am going to try to figure out the Windows approach.

    Thanks to everyone here for their suggestions. It certainly is a responsive and helpful forum.
     
  10. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    danny2000,
    When restoring your system partition, or to a new drive, your best results with the fewest problems will be when restoring from the Rescue CD. This takes Windows out of the picture which helps to ensure success.

    If restoring a non-bootable Data partition, then this can be done from within Windows without diffuculty.
     
  11. danny2000

    danny2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks GroverH.

    I shall take your advice and not waste time experimenting with the Windows interface for restoring the system partition. The Bootable CD certainly was fast and easy. I'll only use the Windows method as you mentioned.

    I appreciate the links you provided - looks like I have some learning to do!

    There really are a lot of helpful people here.
     
  12. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
  13. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello danny2000,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image Home 2009

    The issue can take place if you perform disk defragmentation and bootwiz folder was shifted or deleted. In order to solve the issue restore Windows Boot Loader, proceed as described in this article

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.