Newbie question, this is just not working

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by duvel123, Jul 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. duvel123

duvel123 Registered Member

Ok, Im new to imaging software so maybe I'm not understanding this correctly. I am using ATI 11 and have created a full disk image that I am storing on a different drive on my network. When I try to restore this image from this network drive, it doesn't seem to be working. When you create a full disk image, it should restore everything exactly like it was when you took the image correct? Same wallpaper, same files on desktop, same driver versions, etc. As a test, I changed my current wallpaper, updated some drivers, and deleted some files. After I do the restore, everything is still exactly the same! I have tried several times and have read the directions thoroughly. What I do is browse to the network drive, right click the image file, and choose the option to restore from the menu. Sometimes it appears to be transferring the data across the network to the machine Im restoring to, which takes a noticable amount of time, other times it immediately says "a reboot is required" without doing any kind of transfer. During the reboot, the Acronis software displays a progress bar as if it is restoring the image. After the reboot I get to the login screen, log in, and nothing has changed. Am I doing something wrong here? I'm sure I am choosing to do a complete system image, but nothing is changing. Any help would be appreciated.

2. jmk94903

jmk94903 Registered Member

It sure sounds like TI isn't doing the restore at all. There is one very good reason this can happen and that's if the Linux operating system of the restore environment doesn't support your hardware.

The easiest test of this is to create the TI Rescue CD. Boot from that CD and see if you can see the drive where your backups are stored. Try to validate the backup image that you want to restore.