Newbie - Acronis 9 - How to restore?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by johnpsm, Jan 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. johnpsm

    johnpsm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Portsmouth, NH
    Windows XP Home - My hard drive crashed. How do I restore the operating system and all of its settings to a new hard drive. The new hard drive already has been partitioned the way I like it. I took the long way around for the data files and mounted them and copied them to the new drive. This doesn't work for the operating system and all the drivers, etc.

    Thanks - John
     
  2. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    Are you using True Image and if so have you created and saved an image of your system?
     
  3. johnpsm

    johnpsm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Portsmouth, NH
    I'm using true image. I did a restore of drive C. Then I did a restore of MBR. The computer starts with MS screen and then goes to a small version of that screen and stops. Never goes into the normal boot sequence.

    The computer assigned my CD to Drive D: That was the Fat32 drive before. Not sure of it's purpose.

    If I knew of a way to format my hard drive I could start all over again.
     
  4. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    I'm sorry, I didn't notice that you mentioned Acronis 9 in the Title. Have you tried booting from the Rescue Disk and restoring the complete image of your C: drive to your new drive? For the computer to boot to the Rescue Disk you have to change the boot order in BIOS to boot from the CD first. You restore the complete image of your C: drive by ticking off the box next to Disk 1.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2007
  5. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    John,

    Does that mean the new drive is partitioned to a different number of partitions compared to what you had on the old drive when the image of C was created?

    It's advised to partition the new drive to the same number of partitions (their size being irrelevant), as the Windows installation being restored is aware of the (previous) number of partitions on disk which now doesn't match the actual layout.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello johnpsm,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please note that as bVolk mentioned this issue most likely related to a different partition layout of the destination hard drive and the original disk. Therefore, I would recommend that you follow the instruction provided in this previous post to solve the issue.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.