**NEW** ZoneAlarm release 13

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by fax, Mar 25, 2014.

  1. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,359
    Is there still 1 update in 24 hours with the latest ZA Free version 13.3? :doubt: The firewall is really nice ...
     
  2. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    yes, same settings.
     
  3. porrkanon

    porrkanon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Posts:
    57
    anyone else having problems over the last 2-4 days updating the definitions? im just getting 'update failed' etc. after 4-5 attempts it eventually works but that takes the best part of half an hour
     
  4. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    nope, works fine here.
     
  5. porrkanon

    porrkanon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Posts:
    57
    thanks...maybe time for a clean install or something else for me then i guess
     
  6. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    yeap, may be a temporary issue with your ISP/DNS?
     
  7. porrkanon

    porrkanon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Posts:
    57
    actually updating has been really slow for like a month - taking like 10 mins watching it slowly go up to 100%, but its not started failing until 2-4 days ago (or maybe a week i dont know) its like it goes to 17%, fails, i restart it it goes to 24%, fails, restart, 28% and so on. annoying :) thinking about avira or bd free but nothing decided
     
  8. Tarantula

    Tarantula Guest

    Update takes under 1 minute for me.
     
  9. porrkanon

    porrkanon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Posts:
    57
    a fully clean install, including thorough uninstall and deleting of dirs and cleaning of registry and it works as normal here too, updates are normal again :)
     
  10. Tarantula

    Tarantula Guest

    Captcha puzzle in ZA forums is broken for me. Can anyone confirm this?
     
  11. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,321
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Fax..I am using ZA Free Firewall Version 11.0.768. I only use the FW part of it not the AV or the ID Protection. Should i even bother to install the newest version. Have there been any good changes to the Firewall since .768. Installing over the top seems to cause problems for some people and i don't really want to uninstall and run the Clean Tool so i can do a clean install of 13.3.052.000.
     
  12. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Old versions uses old drivers and therefore you open up yourself to undisclosed vulnerabilities.
    If don't mind the above then keep using the old version.
     
  13. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Yes, it seems broken also here
     
  14. Tarantula

    Tarantula Guest

    Thanks!
     
  15. Frank the Perv

    Frank the Perv Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    882
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    I have ZA on one computer in the household... and I've always sorta liked it.

    But I'm liking it less and less.

    Even with a free subscription, I'll probably dump this and replace with SEP or G-Data. Or maybe I'll finally try 360 or join the Kool-Aide crowd and try Webroot.
     
  16. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Sicher...Frank...always Sicher...Lol! Sincerely...Securon
     
  17. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    There you go...it's G-Data time! Let's go Securon!
     
  18. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Captcha seems to work again, here... :)
     
  19. wert33

    wert33 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    germany
  20. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Afternoon! wert33! Are ZoneAlarm still using Kaspersky...or have they migrated to a different Vendors Engine? Or are they using their own in house engine? Sincerely...Securon
     
  21. osmandemi

    osmandemi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    82
    Still use Kaspersky engine? new antivirus engine o_O
     
  22. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,860
  23. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
  24. osmandemi

    osmandemi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    82
    Pcmag Review Date : April 14, 2014
    ZoneAlarm version 13.4.261.000 date : Apr 14, 2015
     
  25. wert33

    wert33 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    germany
    yes kaspersky
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.