New Virus Bulletin test

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by webster, Aug 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. webster

    webster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    285
    Location:
    Denmark
  2. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    The Pctools results certainly don't surprise me.

    Although somewhat worse than expected.
     
  3. EraserHW

    EraserHW Malware Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Italy
    Symantec missed a couple of Virut samples, because of a minor adjustement to their detection routines.

    Even Kaspersky didn't detect some Virut samples. Tho, Symantec has not been as lucky as Kaspersky because those samples that are gone undetected by Symantec were inside the WildList.
     
  4. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    I'm happy :)
     
  5. NobleT

    NobleT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Posts:
    58
    norman passed the testing ,but as far as i am concerned that norman's detection is mediocre,even getting worse and worse,by testing asia virus sample in a security forum.moreover,i wrote an email to them(feedbacking some suggestion)but not get any reply
     
  6. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    The article claims the following in the end.

    Well, I guess that depends on what they mean by close. ESET have 40, that sounds pretty damn close to me ;)


    Cheers
     
  7. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    What a pity.Symantec Endpoint Protection and Rising failed.
     
  8. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Say, funky, is there a particular reason you stopped using WD? I'd problems when it was running, but hey - I would definitely have used it otherwise, no doubt. :rolleyes:
     
  9. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    I stopped using it because Microsoft removed the HIPS stuff in windows 7, so best to just get used to not using it now. I didn't remove it because it was bad or anything.
     
  10. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Okay, I've personally kept a installation of the current final (the one which does incl. HIPS) on my file-drive as I prefer XP anyway. :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.