New Versions of my BartPE plugins are available

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mustang, Jun 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    If you plan to reset my BartPE plugins for TI9 3666 (any version), please download a new version of the plugin from my website first. The download link for the MakeDirProfiles plugin included in my plugin has not been working. I have included the needed code into my inf files for TI9. A separate make directory profile plugin is no longer needed.

    This would only effect people using the Nu2Shell. If you are using XPE or the Reatogo setup, the missing MakeDirProfiles plugin would not matter. XPE provides the needed code.

    mustang
     
  2. Michael777

    Michael777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    Mustang,

    Thank you for your support. I hope Acronis is compensating you in some fashion.

    I finally got a chance to try your plugins with XPE, and I'll never use plain BartPE again. I have never gotten any menus to function in BartPE, XPE is a dream.

    One question...
    I still use TI9.0.2337 for image creation (out of fear, however unjust).
    And TI9.1.3663UR for universal restores.
    And DD10.0.latest(2117?) for partitioning.

    Is it possible to load all three into XPE?
    I quess the real question is, since the build process requires all three to be loaded, can all three be safely loaded on one system concurrently?

    Short of knowing the answer, I did remove TI9.0.2337 prior to the TI9.1.3633UR install.
     
  3. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi Michael,

    There is no problem combining DD10 with any of the TI plugins. But, I'm afraid you can't combine the two TI9 plugins you are using on the same BartPE disk. Just for the fun of it, I tried it. TI9.1 Worstation build 3666 ran with no apparent problem. However, TI 9.0 build 2337 would not start (not even so much as an error message). You'll just have to stick with using separate BartPE disks.

    As for any compensation from Acronis, no such luck.

    mustang
     
  4. Greyhair

    Greyhair Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Boston
    Hi Mustang,

    What is the advantage of using BartPE with an Acronis TI 9 plugin? Since the ATI rescue disk sees my USB 2 hard drive quite well, why would I want to go into a Windows environment. I'm not sceptical, just a puzzled newbie.

    Thanks in advance.

    Good luck, Dan




     
  5. Michael777

    Michael777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    Thanks for testing. I understand multiple versions of TI9.x will not play from BartPE, but do you know if multiple versions of TI9 can be loaded into plain windows?
     
  6. Michael777

    Michael777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    I am sure mustang has the more complete response, but the big difference is that with BartPE, TI runs in real Windows.

    The rescue disk uses Linux (that flightless birdie OS thingy). So one may conclude that boot disc behavior would be more consistant with regular windows behavior.

    The other thing a BartPE environment brings, is access to all the windows apps, notepad, cmd, explorer (IE & Win), etc.
     
  7. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Michael,

    I seriously doubt it. You will probably get the same result as I got in BartPE. I think the driver conflict alone is enough to kill it. I've tried to update the drivers in the past by simply copying newer versions into Windows\System32 and Windows\System32\Drivers. It didn't work. TI compained about not finding its modules. That's why Acronis supplies the SnapApi.exe download to update the drivers. You might try running that after both programs are installed

    If you do try it, make sure you do a full system backup before installing a second version of TI. I wouldn't trust any uninstalls to work.

    Grayhair,

    If you have no problems with the Linux Recovery CD with your paticular system, there is no need for you to use BartPE. The main advantage is that you can load any Windows drivers you need into BartPE. This is a great help when the Linux Recovery CD does not recognize your hardware or the recovery is very slow. You have no way of adding drivers to the Linux CD.

    The other big advantage to using BartPE is that techies can load all their tools on one disk and can move from one task to another without rebooting.

    mustang
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.