New version?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Oswald2, Feb 27, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Oswald2

    Oswald2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Posts:
    63
    ESET Smart Security service shut down unexpectedly. Windows offered to send a crash report, which I let it send. Afterwards, Windows reported that a possible solution was available. When I clicked on that link it took me to Microsoft's web site where it said there was a new version available. I clicked on that link and it took me to ESET's download page, where it offered me the smart installer. This page http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN758 shows that I already have the newest version 6.0.308.0. So is Microsoft just confused?
     
  2. foneil

    foneil Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Posts:
    255
    Location:
    San Diego
    6.0.308 is the latest version. I don't know about Microsoft and what their website indicates.
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If you can reproduce the crash, enable Complete application memory dumps under Tools -> Diagnostics and reproduce the crash. Next compress the content of the C:\ProgramData\ESET\ESET Smart Security\Diagnostics folder, upload it to a safe location and PM me the download link.
     
  4. dwomack

    dwomack Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    588
    We're all familiar with Microsoft's "helpful" messages. It's possible their first solution to resolve an issue with software is to update to the latest version. I doubt their service checked the latest version of ESS with the version you had installed.

    That said, the issue still exists that ESS crashed unexpectedly. I'd suggest first following the suggestions by Marcos.
     
  5. Oswald2

    Oswald2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Posts:
    63
    Thanks. I don't know if I can reproduce the crash since I don't know what exactly I was doing to cause it to happen. I have turned on complete memory dumps and will report back if it happens again.
     
  6. jumanji

    jumanji Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    Hi Oswald,
    are you using Roboform?
     
  7. Anfi

    Anfi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Other languages are available in 6.0.308.1.
     
  8. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.