New version

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Antarctica, Jun 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you to the whole Eset team for the very nice job with
    V2.0

    I had been running the beta version for over a month now without
    any problems, no conflict, nothing.

    Good job :) :)
     
  2. jan

    jan Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    804
    Hi Antarctica,

    thanks goes to all people in Eset and around. :) This help us to work with joy. :D There are still many things to do.

    Thanks and enjoy! :)

    jan
     
  3. Madsen DK

    Madsen DK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Posts:
    324
    Location:
    Denmark
    Here we Go :cool:
    All green from here so far.
    Regards
    Ole
     
  4. No problems at all.. Runs great with Trojan Hunter... So conflicts... :D Great Email monitor too..

    Does anyone know how the archives and unpackers compare with KAV or McAfee? I would really appreciate an answer...
     
  5. navalair

    navalair Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Posts:
    14
    I DL'd the Installation Guide for ver. 2 and have the Ver. 2 zip on my desktop, so I am ready to get on with the installation. One quick question: does the advice in the first sentence of the IG, i.e., "it is recommended that you uninstall another antivirus system you may have on your computer" apply to my existing NOD32 ver. 1? The operative word "another" is pretty clear, but I wanted to be sure ver. 2 will install over ver. 1 before proceeding. Thanks for any guidance.
     
  6. Sonic

    Sonic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Posts:
    14
    New version installs over v.1

    No need to uninstall v.1
     
  7. navalair

    navalair Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Posts:
    14
    Thanks for your confirmation that "over ver. 1" works just fine, Sonic, I appreciate it. After I raised the question here, I noticed it had been asked and answered in other posts, another one of those times I should have looked around a little.

    I installed over ver. 1 and all is well, with the exception of one nitpicking disappointment. I frequently check "Performance" readings in Task Manager (WindowsXPHE), and before updating NOD32 to ver. 2, my PC's "Available Memory" and PF ("Page File Usage") were averaging, respectively, 843600k (1047840k/1MB Rambus total), and 82MB.
    After NOD32, ver. 2 install, the average available memory hovers around 824700k, and the PF Usage increased to 102MB. So, I took a noticeable, albeit negligible, memory and PF hit with the installation of ver. 2. I did say it was "nitpicking," right? When I consider what was added with ver. 2, I'm actually surprised (and pleased) that it wasn't worse.
     
  8. anders

    anders Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    410
    You might be able to squeeze it down a bit if you disable the "fancy" graphics in the NOD32 Control Center.

    NOD32 System Tools -> NOD32 System Setup -> Setup -> [ ] Enable window graphics mode

    Personally, I like the graphics, so I'm leaving it. ;)

    Regards,
    Anders
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.