New Version of MJ Registry Watcher

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Graphic Equaliser, Sep 1, 2014.

  1. Graphic Equaliser

    Graphic Equaliser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    London England UK
  2. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Does it work on 64 bit Windows 7?
     
  3. Graphic Equaliser

    Graphic Equaliser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    London England UK
    Of course! I run it on Windows 8.1 64-bit with no problems. You may have to go to the properties of the executable and check the "Run as Administrator" box, or turn off UAC, or run it as a scheduled task with administrator privilege at logon.

    P.S. Our company also run WRSA and we think it's top notch!
     
  4. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Thanks Graphic. I may try it sometime. I used it in XP!
     
  5. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    I have reinstalled MJRW, because it was playing up at bootup, sometimes.

    However, it seems I may have incorrect registry backup information. Can I just do a new registry backup? I am running XP Pro SP3.

    ScreenShot_MJRegWatcher_ reinstalled fresh_17.gif

    ScreenShot_MJRegWatcher_ reinstalled fresh_18.gif
     
  6. Graphic Equaliser

    Graphic Equaliser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    London England UK
    Tarnak, it looks like you may be running low on disk space on your c: drive. Once you have made sure that there is at least 2 GB free on your disk, then you can make a manual snapshot of the registry using MJRW. Go to Options, Backup Registry Now. That makes a snapshot dated today. Out of interest, does the new version still play up occasionally at boot time? It has a different methodology for throttling which no longer uses event handling (which I thought may be the cause of infrequent boot time wobblers). However, it may be due to the tray icon component I use, so it may still occur on the odd occasion.

    Anyway, I do hope the problem was disk space, which is an easy problem to solve - just delete all the Microsoft stuff ;):confused::argh::eek::rolleyes:o_O:cautious::doubt: (please don't do that!)
     
  7. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    Hi GE,

    At boot, I was getting something similar to this: "The instruction at 0x745f2780 referenced memory at 0x00000000. The memory could not be read."

    As can be seen from the redundant old install which I have have removed from C:\unzipped\Regwatcher\MJRegWatcher and copied to another location as a backup, before deleting to see how the reinstall went, with latest version of MJRW.

    ScreenShot_MJRegWatcher_ reinstalled fresh_21.gif

    I will do as you suggest and make a new snapshot of the registry , since I have plenty of free space on the disk.
     
  8. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    I just tried to take a manual snapshot of the registry, but was unsuccessful.

    ScreenShot_MJRegWatcher_ reinstalled fresh_22.gif
     
  9. Graphic Equaliser

    Graphic Equaliser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    London England UK
    If you're sure there's enough disk space, then it looks like something amiss with the disk platters themselves, such that dumping out a 100 MByte .reg file causes a disk write error. You could try running the Error Checking tool for the C: drive. In explorer, bring up the list of disk drives and right-click the C: drive, Properties. On the Tools tab, use the Error checking facility to check the disk for errors. Tick the checkbox for "Fix Errors", and it may prompt to do this next time you reboot, in which case, do just that. Good luck! If it's your hard disk, then backup as much data from it as possible, and replace the disk (assuming you have an XP OS CD or DVD disk).
     
  10. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    I will check my other snapshots, where I have MJRW installed before I run the error checking tool. I once used the checking tool, and I ended up with having to replace a drive.

    P.S. I have never had to use the restore registry function of MJRW, ever. So, I am not too worried, if I can't take a backup of the registry.
     
  11. Graphic Equaliser

    Graphic Equaliser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    London England UK
    If the drive is more than 2 years old, it can become faulty. Is S.M.A.R.T. monitoring it? Have you got another physical hard disk that you could install into the box? Have you got an external USB drive you could try? If you can get another drive onto your system, you could try to install the new version of MJRW there, and try the Backup Registry Now option on that instead, and see if it works or not. It will even install on a USB key and run from there. Anyway, just some suggestions. I don't advise trusting your files to your C: drive if it's on its way out.

    You can switch off MJRW registry backups by unchecking the "Enable Automatic Registry Backup" option under Options, Settings. This setting is remembered in the configuration file.
     
  12. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    The C: drive was replaced in July last year, and is fine. I will let you know if there is any problem with my two other snapshots. I will check each, after I boot into them. Thanks for the suggestions. :)
     
  13. Graphic Equaliser

    Graphic Equaliser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    London England UK
    You could also try to run regedit.exe and "File, Export, All" to a .reg file of your own choosing. If that fails, then it can't be a problem with MJRW, but with some characters in the registry itself which, for some unknown reason, cannot be written out properly. Bizarre!
     
  14. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    Just tried, but no go!

    ---------------------------
    Registry Editor
    ---------------------------
    Cannot export F:\Registry backup.reg: Error writing the file. There may be a disk or file system error.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------
     
  15. Graphic Equaliser

    Graphic Equaliser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    London England UK
    Run chkdsk/f on the C: drive first (fix errors) or use the option for error checking I mentioned in a post further up this page.

    If no joy, then, it's definitely a problem with your hard disk. I would backup your data, and prepare for a fresh system with a new hard disk. Either that, or a new PC. I had to scrap a perfectly adequate PC a couple of weeks ago, because there was no in-built graphics option on the mobo, and the PCIE slot no longer worked properly (no signal going into the mobo from it). With only PCI slots left, there would be no way to support a 1920X1080 HD monitor. So, I scrapped it (placed in attic!), and got another from pcspecialist.co.uk on their 4-year HP deal. Here is my new spec :-

    Case STYLISH PIANO BLACK ENIGMA CASE + 2 FRONT USB
    Processor (CPU) Intel® Core™i7 Quad Core Processor i7-4790k (4.0GHz) 8MB Cache
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z97-HD3: ATX, LG1150, USB 3.0, SATA 6GBs
    Memory (RAM) 8GB KINGSTON DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (1 x 8GB)
    Graphics Card 1GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 750 - DVI, mHDMI, VGA - 3D Vision Ready
    1st Hard Disk 120GB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, SATA 6Gb/s (upto 540MB/sR | 410MB/sW)
    2nd Hard Disk 500GB 3.5" SATA-III 6GB/s HDD 7200RPM 16MB CACHE
    Power Supply CORSAIR 350W VS SERIES™ VS-350 POWER SUPPLY
    Processor Cooling INTEL STANDARD CPU COOLER
    Sound Card Creative Sound Blaster® Audigy™ FX OEM
    Wireless/Wired Networking 10/100/1000 GIGABIT LAN PORT - AS STANDARD ON ALL PCs
    USB Options MIN. 2 x USB 3.0 & 4 x USB 2.0 PORTS @ BACK PANEL + MIN. 2 FRONT PORTS
    Power Cable 1 x 1 Metre UK Power Cable (Kettle Lead)
    Operating System Genuine Windows 8.1 Professional 64 Bit - inc DVD & Licence
    DVD Recovery Media Windows 8.1 (64-bit) Professional DVD with paper sleeve
    Browser Firefox™
    Warranty 3 Year Standard Warranty (1 Month Collect & Return, 1 Year Parts, 3 Year Labour)
    Delivery STANDARD INSURED DELIVERY TO UK MAINLAND (MON-FRI)
    Price (excluding VAT) £673.33
    Price (inc. VAT) £808.00
    Payment Method Finance [Interest Finance Option (12 Months / 48 )]
    Wattage Maximum Required Power 281W

    Needless to say, this thing is like a bat out of hell - extremely fast! And I absolutely adore Windows 8.1 Pro. There is a Start button and it is really useful, especially if you right-click on it when in Desktop mode! 'Kin A! :thumb: The Metro screen can be configured to be useful, too. Here are the settings I imposed using the right-click on Taskbar, Properties dialog :-

    http://jacobsm.com/win81settings.png

    Regards, and good luck.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2014
  16. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    I have booted into another of my snapshots, and it has MJRW, which is still at v1.2.7.9...

    I have downloaded twice, and extracted the RAR file to the right folder, but is still shows the old version. I must be doing something wrong, but I don't see it. Sometimes I feel like a rookie!

    ScreenShot_MJRW_version update_ for another snapshot_02.gif

    ScreenShot_MJRW_version update_ for another snapshot_03.gif

    ScreenShot_MJRW_version update_ for another snapshot_10.gif
     
  17. Graphic Equaliser

    Graphic Equaliser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    London England UK
    I think there must be some confusion over the paths it has been extracted to. Going back to an older version will not make any difference. The problem you have with disk write errors, is exhibited by regedit.exe which is a Windows application written by Microsoft.
     
  18. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    You have misunderstood, but I have not gone back to older version. I am in different snapshot, that is running the older version. I will prove it with a different size registry backup, as you see.

    ScreenShot_MJRW_version update_ for another snapshot_05.gif
     
  19. Graphic Equaliser

    Graphic Equaliser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    London England UK
    So, what is the problem (aside from disk write errors)? I am asking because the other version of MJRW could be writing to a different part of the disk which does not have errors on it. Or the snapshot may be on a different drive, like your E: drive.
     
  20. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    The snapshots are on the C: drive, but independent of each other. Like having different computers on the same hardware, but I can boot up independently.
     
  21. Graphic Equaliser

    Graphic Equaliser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    London England UK
    So, one is installed on one part of the drive and the other on another part of the drive. Perhaps one part is healthy and the other is not. I think the only way to sort it out is to Error-check the drive and have it scan bad sectors and fix anything wrong it finds. I would do that first.
     
  22. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    I won't take that chance...

    I would prefer to remove MJRW, completely and reinstall... from the problem install-snapshot.

    But, back to the later snapshot if you look clearly at the last lot of snapshots, you see two files of 3182 KB in the folder, at 10:29 pm and 10: 56 pm. I thought when I extracted, it would have overwritten the old exe's. If you see, at the relevant screenshot it did modify the folders in c:\unzipped\RegWatcher but, not the others.

    Anyway, it is late here, and I am off to bed... so hopefully, you can let me know of an easy way to update MJRW in future, because I have found it difficult to do so... or perhaps, I just don't get it.
     
  23. Graphic Equaliser

    Graphic Equaliser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    London England UK
    When you update MJRW, it renames any file called RegWatcher.zip to RegWatcher12xx.zip, and then downloads RegWatcher.zip and launches it, after first terminating the running MJRW. You have manually extracted files from the old zip, causing an older version to become extant.
     
  24. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    That is why I didn't always update all of my snapshots at the same time, because I always ended up in a muddle. That is why, I think when I updated one of the times I did something wrong.

    It seems I don't know how to extract the downloaded update using RAR.
     
  25. Graphic Equaliser

    Graphic Equaliser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    London England UK
    You have to be careful where you are extracting to, and whether you are also using stored paths or not. Check your settings when you do the extraction. Also, please ensure that all versions of MJRW are stopped before extracting.
     
Loading...