New Version 4.0.437

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by dorgane, May 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    I don't know what to say to to all the people who are still having problems with the .437 buils of ESS.

    I for one am totally satisfied. I've got XP Pro SP3 (fully updated) and Internet Explorer 8 working beautifully with ESS 4.0.437. Not a single burp, fart, gargle, blip, blop....smoothe as silk. No more out of the ordinary entries in any of the Event logs.

    Nice job ESET.

    Thank you.
     
  2. no_idea

    no_idea Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    83
    same here :)

    I had, however to do a complete uninstall of .424 before, because upgrading from .424 in test mode with the firewall module 1046 active did seemingly work, but led to a strange mix of module levels (e.g. the sysinspector module was left on 1212)

    Switching off test mode resulted in downgrading the firewall module to 1040 :confused:

    I then exported my settings, did a complete uninstall (as explained here), imported my settings and now everything is well :D
     
  3. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    Yes, I highly recommend never using test mode, unless you're desperate.
     
  4. no_idea

    no_idea Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    83
    firewall modules lower than 1046 made me kind of "desperate" ;)
     
  5. osip

    osip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Posts:
    610
    I agree totally...The fw has improved significantly, simple user or advanced, you decide the options, and the options are absolute(maybe tricky, but how to make it simplier?)...ESET is regaining the position in all current tests and the climb has'nt stopped, (and I have never doubt it...) I´ve tested a lot similar sec.programs but finally I'm back to ESS...Feels fine to make that kind of estatement...
     
  6. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Precisely why I keep a OS image file on hand (on a DVD made with Ghost or stored on one of 4 additional HDD's) that has no Antivirus or Security applications on it at all.

    If I wanted to I could have a totally new OS up and running in less than 10 minutes. But, I'm an over-kill perfectionist and I tend to do a full erase (most of the time) of my root drive and that takes 27 minutes, plus another 2~3 minutes for format/partition, then another 5 minutes to restore the OS image file.
     
  7. CivilTaz

    CivilTaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    146
    o_O o_O
     
  8. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
  9. no_idea

    no_idea Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    83
    A wise precaution, I'm sure.

    However, this setup wouldn't have been of much help in my case (mind you, I do my backups too ;) ) as this was my "production" machine.
    Restoring a "clean" image would also have wiped out all my installed software together with its configuration in the registry.
    My personal files are my least concern - I could always just restore them from backup.

    btw, since you are happy with the new .437 version you might want to give your signature a quick once-over ;)
     
  10. zarzenz

    zarzenz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Posts:
    496
    Location:
    UK
    Yes Darren,

    For the obvious perfectionist that you are, you kinda let that one slip by you there.

    Only joking... no need to take everything in life so seriously.

    Yes, just to concur, everything working fine here too.
     
  11. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Oh...okay.

    How's this?
     
  12. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    By the way,

    I'm using Windows 7 RC 7100 (64-bit) at the moment and ESS 4.0.437 (64-bit) is working fine.
     
  13. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,456
    Location:
    USA
    Well this version is actually still running well on my laptop despite the BSOD the first time I installed it. I decided to give it a run on my 64 bit desktop and had some trouble installing it. When the window popped up to ask if I wanted to allow sharing for my network, I clicked on the link and it replied with "Could not change setting" and I got a red tray icon. I uninstalled and tried again. On the 4th install it finally worked. It seems to be running well but it looks like someone still needs to work on getting this thing to work correctly on a first run... a lot of people wouldn't have been persistent enough to try 4 times. Normally I wouldn't. If I didn't already own a license I wouldn't have.
     
  14. The PIT

    The PIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Well after a few weeks the old firefox refusal to load the odd the web page has come back.
    If it annoys me enough I'll have to go back to version three.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.