New Version 4.0.437

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by dorgane, May 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,508
    Location:
    USA
    I am having the exact same problem. Vista 32 bit SP2. I thought I would give it another chance when I saw there was a new build, but it just went from bad to worse. :(
     
  2. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,372
    Thx again for your input. I was curious whether .437 brings a new firewall module (higher than 1046). If that would be a case, I would have to disable the test mode to get the latest/higher firewall module. Hope, that's way how it works. Anyhow, a decent clarification from Eset folks would be highly appreciated.
     
  3. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    635
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    I turned test mode off and the firewall module reverted back to 1040o_O Reenabled test mode to get 1046 again. So I assume the answer is no.
     
  4. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    is version 3 still being worked on? i thought there was a firewall update being worked on? sorry i just don't like version 4 there just seems too much of it!
     
  5. kennethtb

    kennethtb Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    spain
    good practice please

    Hi Everyone, If I may I would add my two pennys worth about downloading new builds on the top of old. As a retired, old fashioned mechanical engineerer the golden rule has always been that one should never where ever possible mix old parts with new! and to my mind this same psychology (old fashioned as it seems) should also apply to computer users some of which are always looking for a slick fast option.
    In following my own advice I have never experienced any of the problems I read in this forum either with version 3 or the release version 4 or this latest version 437. So I humbly submit that the advice offered by some forum users (no doubt in good faith) should be abandoned once and for all and lets face it Eset really is the most important piece of software on your computer so at least it should be installed clean, Its simply just good practice! and why cut corners anyway? just to save a few minuets (maybe) with the possibility of adding many difficult to trace problems. As for me .. XP home sp3 I follow this proceedure ... Uninstall using the Eset uninstaller (not add and remove) and restart my computer as directed/ Remove the two registry keys found in regedit/
    Go to Windows search for Eset and remove the four files still outstanding some of which are not empty/
    Follow the advice of Eset to repair winsock and go to start/cmd/netsh winsock reset/ and reboot as required.
    Finally I run my Reg cleaner (I use jv16 power tools) and low and behold it still finds shell extensions and old menu records from Eset. Finally I reboot again for a fresh clean install from the Eset download site. The whole procedure takes just a few minuets longer than the over-installing option so why not do it? May I finally suggest that after removal but before reinstalling one re-looks for any previous antivirus/firewall software other than Eset that is considered long gone. best kenneth
     
  6. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Finally. Thanks ESET. New build is looking great!

    I downloaded and installed the new build .437.

    Running perfectly so far.

    Very nice.

    Nothing showing up in the Event logs.

    Thank you ESET for taking care of that wild hair. :thumb:
     
  7. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131
    Re: Finally. Thanks ESET. New build is looking great!

    I'd have to agree running great so far internet very quick...
     
  8. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    Re: Finally. Thanks ESET. New build is looking great!

    Teething problems are indeed nearly over.
     
  9. YungJosh

    YungJosh Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Maryland
    Re: Finally. Thanks ESET. New build is looking great!

    do u have 2 download the new version manually
     
  10. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Re: Finally. Thanks ESET. New build is looking great!

    Yes.

    Indeed.
     
  11. YungJosh

    YungJosh Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Maryland
    Re: Finally. Thanks ESET. New build is looking great!

    alright thanks
     
  12. nickster_uk

    nickster_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    190
    Re: Finally. Thanks ESET. New build is looking great!

    I take it none of you guys use WMP Network Sharing between user profiles and devices?? ;)

    I gave 437 a test run in the hope that everything would run smoothly but this bug is still ongoing for me. No log entry is created but when I disable the firewall module in the System Integraton section and reboot, everything works without a problem. Have also tried running the firewall in various modes but still no joy.

    There also seem to be quite a few packets being blocked by IDS. Well known, trustworthy websites included. I had ESET set to block connections to logged addresses but connections were still being made to the IP addresses referenced in the IDS log entries. Unless i'm missing the point, something isn't quite right there...however, on reflection it was more convenient to be able to connect to those websites, it just seemed like a contradiction in terms for the settings themselves.

    The little annoyances aside, I really do like the GUI and the feature list is great. Plus I haven't had any BSODs or Event Log entries for any build of v4 that I have used, but I would be far happier if it worked as well as v3.0.368 but with all the niceties from v4.
     
  13. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Re: Finally. Thanks ESET. New build is looking great!

    I finally got IE8 and XP Pro SP3 working really good together now. The new ESS build is icing on the cake.

    Gonna be loading up Windows 7 RC ( both the 32 and 64-bit) and see how the new ESS build works.
     
  14. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Re: Finally. Thanks ESET. New build is looking great!

    hey Nickster,

    Have you looked in the Advanced settings>Web access protection>HTTP,HTTPS>Web browsers and Active mode to see if WMP is being scanned as a browser?
     
  15. nickster_uk

    nickster_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    190
    Re: Finally. Thanks ESET. New build is looking great!

    Yep...I checked every single nook and cranny for any reference to wmp network sharing being blocked and couldn't find a thing. Thanks for the suggestion though.
     
  16. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    I'm also an engineer but not a software engineer so that got little to do with this.

    A lot of software unless otherwise stated does get installed over older builds.

    Peeps have tried v4 on totally clean bare minimum installs of Windows.

    This build seems better so far for me, no FW failing to load and cause a BSOD but I have not turned the HTTP/WEB scanner back on to see if the slow surfing is fixed but in last version it was a bit faster and no time outs.

    ESET is not the most important piece of software on a PC, that would be the OS.
     
  17. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    Actually that would probably be the BIOS.
     
  18. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    You normally don't install a Bios on the PC so to speak. ;)
     
  19. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

  20. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
  21. EasternOkie

    EasternOkie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Posts:
    50
    Not all joy here. BSOD on boot still occuring. For months!!! No help from Eset!!!
     
  22. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,432
    It's easy to blame ESET for every problem, but have you already created a complete or kernel memory dump and conveyed it to ESET for perusal? I've seen cases where a BSOD occurred and the problem turned out to be actually in other drivers even if BSOD didn't occur with ESET uninstalled.
     
  23. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Very strange then how BSOD did not happen on v3 and now does not happen on this new build of v4. ;)

    ESET actually managed to fix the FW which could cause a BSOD at Windows start up (most times does not cause a BSOD but stops Internet Connection) even though its still in TEST Mode 1046.

    Now lets hope next fix is the HTTP/WEB scanner that still slows down 99% of sites (that I use inc my ISP's Homepage), but at least its not as slow as previous builds that could even time out/fail to load.

    This seems to have been forgotten/overshadows by the recent FW bugs, I never had any issue once FW was running, its not the cause of slow surfing for me.

    ESET are to blame for most of issues on 4v, that's what happens when you get greedy and put out an unfinished product too early due to a Tech Conference in Vegas.

    Far too many users had issues this time around and came here to voice it.

    ESET v4 is the only thing stopping me doing a clean slipstream install of Vista64, I'm due a clean install and I have got all my other Software/Apps 100% with no bug builds apart from ESET ESS v4.

    There is no way I am messing with a clean install testing ESS out more.
     
  24. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,508
    Location:
    USA
    To be fair and since I have already paid for this I thought I would try this version again to see if the BSOD I got would happen again. It didn't and this seems to be the best build of v4 so far. However problems don't usually show up for a couple of days, so we'll see. I am hoping I won't have to remove it again.
     
  25. EasternOkie

    EasternOkie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Posts:
    50
    You do not know what you are talking about. I have sent many full dumps and Sysinspector logs and still no replies from Eset about any of them. This has been going on for many months on every version of ESS 4. I have no BSODs until I install ESS 4. Remove it and no BSOD. So don't tell me Eset is clean here.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.