New User needs info

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by adoganalog, Nov 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. adoganalog

    adoganalog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,
    Please bear with this brief preface-
    A friend has True Image 9.0 and said it works great for him.
    I noticed 9.0 for sale on the internet very cheap - after reading the forum, I realize this is not a good idea, and will purchase 11.0 from Acronis

    However- I downloaded a 9.0 trial version just to verify TI would work.
    I created a rescue disk, and I backed up my hard drive to an external USB
    drive (Seagate Free Agent 250 Gig).

    Using max compression, the backup archieve was created ( 15 Gig).
    When I choose the 'validate back up archieve' option, I get the message

    "This not the last created volume of the backup archive. Please insert the last created volume to start working with this archive. "

    I'm unclear as to what's gone wrong. ( I chose 'validate backup archieve' from the main screen of TI - no reboot or restoration disk involved).

    Since I've decide to go with 11.0, I suppose I'll download the 11.0 demo and try again.

    One thing that I should mention. I'm having trouble with my virus scan and the 'System Volume Information\tracking.log' file, as my virus scan hangs up there. I'm determining what I should do about this, but I wonder if it's anyway related.

    I tried to do another backup last night, over night, and this morning the computer was locked up without completing. Maybe coincidence....

    Any advice is appreciated,
    Thanks.
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Did you try the Validate from the Rescue disk?

    In any case, getting a successful validate does not mean that a Recovery will be 100% successful. You have to, at least for the first few backups, do an actual restore to a spare drive and make sure that spare drive will boot like the original.

    BTW, ver 9 build 3677 works fine for me too and I see no reason for updating to later versions.
     
  3. adoganalog

    adoganalog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    I did try the validate from a rescue disk, with the same results.

    From what little I've found to read on the issue, this shouldn't happen unless you have spanned the archieve across several files ( or CDs) - which I did not do.
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Try the default Normal compression and see if Validate works.
     
  5. adoganalog

    adoganalog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    My friend made a back up of his drive with 35 Gig today, and the file size was 20 Gig. My HD was 90+ gig, and the archieve file size was 15 Gig.

    It seems like it expected the file to be split, and was looking for the other parts ( ? ).

    I'll try another back up tomorrow
     
  6. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    What format is your backup drive - FAT32 or NTFS?

    Colin
     
  7. adoganalog

    adoganalog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    My backup drive is NTFS
     
  8. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    adoganalog,
    Maybe review my guides below and see there is anything there of help.
    If the drive receiving the backup files is NTFS, you will get one large file unless you choose the option of "archive splitting".

    Did you mention what operating system you are using?

    One workaround you might try regarding the system restore files would be to disable the function or use the disk cleaning option to keep only the last copy. Note: Disabling will remove all previous system restore copies.

    When booting from the Rescue CD, your anti-virus software is a non-issue.

    Have you tried error checking your system drive?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.