New to using Ghost Wall

Discussion in 'Other Ghost Security Software' started by RonnieBoyUK, Oct 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RonnieBoyUK

RonnieBoyUK Registered Member

Hi I'm new to using GhostWall. I switched to it as I transfered to Win XP x64 and none of the leading Internet Security teams seem to have got a Firewall working for x64, seems they're all waiting for Windows Vista code, or something like that, I'm not sure.

Anyways, I'm having trouble letting some apps access the net properly with GhostWall. Such as eMule and Steam, as eMule connects but won't give me high ID and won't connect to KAD and with ghostwall active using Steam, it normally can't see any servers and when it does it can't can't connect to them. I've tried inputing the various TCP and UDP rules to allow them to access ok but they still can't connect properly.

I'm not very experienced using firewall software, as with the main Firewall teams when you use an app it brings up a dialog asking whether you want it to allow the program or not! But with this you've got to input rules yourself and I think I've inputted them correctly but I'm not 100% sure!

Like I said I'm on win x64 behind a router with a firewall enabled (with the appropriate ports opened so certain things can run), I've also still got windows firewall on as well, whilst having GhostWall running!

Any ideas on how to get GhostWall to let my apps connect to the net alright? Or is this a conflict from having GhostWall running with Windows Firewall as well? Any help would be appreciated! :)

2. CrazyM

CrazyM Firewall Expert

Hi RonnieBoyUK

... and welcome to Wilders :)

Have you created the necessary exceptions in the Windows Firewall?

Anything showing up in any of your logs as to what is being blocked (router and software firewall logs)?
    It is generally recommended to run only one software firewall on your system.

Regards,

CrazyM

3. RonnieBoyUK

RonnieBoyUK Registered Member