New Shadow Defender is out, Version 1.1.0.275 - October 6, 2008

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by demoneye, Oct 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2008
  2. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Thanks!

    But Why don't I see any difference in the GUI?
     
  3. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    'cos you missed it.:cool:

    The developer add a feature in the GUI about the free space, etc.
    I think it's under the Option tab.
     
  4. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    well I have run it through the grinder since yesterday and so far flawless. Worked with, Avira, Eset, Geswall, Avast and Threatfire so far. Avast is really looking good in detection. It had been awhile since I installed the pro version.

    Good work Tony.;) :thumb:
     
  5. Einsturzende

    Einsturzende Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    390
    Location:
    neubauten
    I really like this software and I have a question, is there official forum for this software?
    I would like to suggest one feature on that forum, registry exclusion.
     
  6. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    no official forum but here I guess. Plenty use it so you will get alot of help from Wilders Members.

    Registry exclusion, Tonycn is the developer and member here, he will see your request or you can email him directly at
    support@shadowdefender.com
     
  7. Einsturzende

    Einsturzende Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    390
    Location:
    neubauten
    Thank you :)
     
  8. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    How effective is that at anything negative that could possibly be thrown at it? I ask because I'm considering this as a replacement for Sandboxie. In your opinion, would this be a effective replacement for SBIE?
     
  9. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Aigle and Peter have tested it very extensively. It held up very well. I think there was one time a nasty wasnt detected and the vendor corrected that in 2 days. I would say that is is not a fly-by-night product and has risen to the top to be one of the more stable and productive products in the market.
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    Yep. I use it to protect my system when I am playing with nasty stuff in a VM machine.

    Pete
     
  11. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Yep its on my to do purchase list.:thumb:
     
  12. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    Thanks for the news.
    Can I install this on top of my existing SD or do I need to uninstall the old one first?
    Hugger
     
  13. Einsturzende

    Einsturzende Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    390
    Location:
    neubauten
    No need for uninstallation, just run 1.1.0.275 installer to update existing installation
    You can run it along with sandboxie, I personally run: KIS 2009, sandboxie and shadow defender
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2008
  14. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Wouldn't that be extremely repetative? That'd be (almost) like having two virtualization programs, right?
     
  15. Einsturzende

    Einsturzende Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    390
    Location:
    neubauten
    Yes I believe so, but there is no interference between those two, in fact I run sandboxie all time, SD only on-demand (in certain situations)
     
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    This is exactly what I do.

    Pete
     
  17. Einsturzende

    Einsturzende Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    390
    Location:
    neubauten
    If there is registry exclusions in SD and some other usability changes/additions , I would consider dumping sandboxie ...for now SD is to "stiff" for me to use it all time, extra flexibility will be great till then only on-demand.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2008
  18. Pseudo

    Pseudo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Posts:
    193
    I've always loved Shadow Defender... as soon as I get a new computer I can use to myself, it's going on immediately. :D
     
  19. munckman

    munckman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Posts:
    100
    Einsturzende, I see your point and agree but...

    Registry exclusions would be useful and at the same time could possibly be a hindrance (users would have to know specific registry entries for various programs). Presently, it is possible, say to, have SD on and update Avira AntiVir using a combination of file excludes and "disregarding the fact that AntiVir says that the definitions are NOT up-to-date" ; but in fact is really
    up-todate - across reboots. This is certainly not the best scenario.:eek: It is possible but not convenient and confusing to say the least.

    It would be great if SD Users could selectively allow certain programs free reign to update and that the updates were retained across reboots. Sorry for stating the obvious.:isay:

    Regards
     
  20. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Avira updates are up to date while in Shadow mode. I stay in shadow mode for days sometimes and Avira updates so it is up to date. On a reboot, I manually click update and it just returns the updates to where they were before I came out of shadow mode.
     
  21. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    Hi trjam

    Only danger I see of staying constantly shadowed is if you run the temporary area out of space the system hangs, hence the new alert.

    Tony what I would like to see is an option to specify a larger shadow file before going into shadow mode.

    Pete
     
  22. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    well there is the graph to show you how much space is being used by SD. And if push came to shove, it is in a snapshot with FD-ISR.;)
     
  23. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    trjam, if you know which folders to exclude, Avira can retain it's updates after you exit shadow mode. I recalled seeing someone asking that question which folders to exclude.
     
  24. hany3

    hany3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Posts:
    207
    to retain avira's update
    u don't need to exclude folders only , but also u have to exclude some registery keys us well , while SD does not support such feature yet
    i asked tony about such feature many times long ago
    however another the low ratted clean slate support this feature , but i don't like it
    any way u can exit the shadow mode every 2 or 3 days and update it then re-enabled it
    best regards
     
  25. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    After a reboot, I find it easy just to check for any windows updates, and update your AV, takes about 10 seconds, then start Shadow Defender (enter Shadow Mode).

    Personally I don't see the need to exclude folders, just find the file you want to keep, right-click and select 'commit'.

    So easy to use.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.