New Problem--Now What??

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Prince_Serendip, Jul 2, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Prince_Serendip

Prince_Serendip Registered Member

Last night, from 22:51:49 until 23:31:38 (CDT)there were 63 Low Priority Alerts via the Kazaa Service to my Port 1214 for a Local IP which was NOT mine. I know my machine's IP. I reported the address of the other IP to my ISP later last night (anonymously). My ISP provides DSL service via a LAN. I have never used any Kazaa Service before either!

I did a "whois" on that IP. It belongs to someone working in the corporate division of my ISP. I now suspect he was using my computer as a proxy. How else can I explain how a completely different Local IP showed up in my VisualZone Log? (Please note: I've never had a different Local IP in my Zone Log before.)

What I want to know is how do I protect my machine from being used as a proxy, especially when it's without my knowledge? Any help will be much appreciated and perhaps help others with the same problems. I would like to prevent further occurences. Thanks.

2. Detox

Detox Retired Moderator

This confounds me, but is also very interesting. Wish I could help :-/

3. root

root Registered Member

I am not familiar with spoofing, but I think if you have a good firewall with all the right rules, this cannot be done.
    It looks like you use ZA. Did you have to allow unlimited access to and from your lan?
    I am curious about this too. I hope someone with the proper knowlege clues us in here.
    Can you temporarily block his IP? o_O

4. controler

controler Guest

If I am not misstaken Qwest had it in their User aggrement , that they could connect to your computer for security checks..

I would have to go try dig that info up again...

5. Checkout

Checkout Security Rhinoceros