New PC USB HD and ntldr problem

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by PeterJ, Aug 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PeterJ

PeterJ Registered Member

When trying to backup the HD on my new PC with True Image, it failed to reboot with the ntldr missing error.
    On investigation by removing the external USB HD, the PC rebooted OK. Even on a normal boot up with the USB drive connected, the PC failed to boot. The new PC has a 200 gig SATA HD installed and there does not appear any
    settings in the BIOS to allow the PC to boot with the USB drive connected. My old PC with IDE drives had the USB drive permanently connected and always booted up without any problem.
    Is this a known issue with SATA Drives? as I have no previous experience with them.
    Peter.

2. jmk94903

jmk94903 Registered Member

Was this when booting from the TI Recovery CD?
    Did you install TI on the SATA drive prior to the problem? Did you create a SecureZone or enable the TI Recovery manager?

Does the system fail to boot even with a simple USB 128MB-1GB pocket drive attached?

3. PeterJ

PeterJ Registered Member

TI was installed on the new PC and a boot disk made. Having read previous posts re Hidden partitions and as the PC used F10 to enter the recovery partition, I did not install Secure Zone or the TI Recovery manager.
    The PC failed to reboot from the TI Boot disk with the USB drive plugged in. Remove the USB drive and the PC will boot using the TI TI Boot disk.
    The system failed to boot with a USB 512 GB Stick or USB HD installed. The shop where the PC was purchased could not sort the problem out (If there was a problem?) so I had a refund, however still would like to find out if this is a problem with newer PC's and SATA drives.
    Peter.

4. Acronis Support

Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

Hello Peter,

Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.