New Panda Dome versions, replacing old Panda products

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by roger_m, Mar 28, 2018.

  1. wert33

    wert33 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    germany
    18.7.0 is here. no changelog today
     
  2. Bill K

    Bill K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    Naperville IL
    I'm running Panda Dome Advanced (in US) but when I check About Panda Dome it shows version 18.06.00. I have Automatic Updates on, do I have to do something to manually get the latest program update? TIA
     
  3. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    36,260
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  4. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,699
    Panda has a history of not updating itself when new versions are released, although I believe it has gotten better at that. If it's a minor update, maybe it won't update and you will have to manually download and install the update.
     
  5. Bill K

    Bill K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    Naperville IL
    Thanks, I did a bit of research in their forums and found that at least the current versions of Panda Dome will not automatically update the program. Seems absurd that a security product requires an uninstall and reinstall to get the latest version yet that is how it currently works. After re-installation you have to go through and reset all of your preferred options. The more I think about it I'm leaning towards going back to ESET IS instead of Panda Dome Advanced. :(
     
  6. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,699
    Current versions do update sometimes. Even when it doesn't update, you do not need to uninstall the current version before installing the new version.
     
  7. Bill K

    Bill K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    Naperville IL
    Thanks again but that's not what I experienced, when I tried to install the current version it required me to first do a full uninstall which of course removed all my settings. I found a license I had for F-Secure SAFE which I'm now giving a go and we'll see how it works out... If not I can always go back to my ESET IS license which is also still active, it's nice to have a few choices to work with!
     
  8. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,354
    I agree, it's ridiculous and I don't want to waste my time with uninstall/reinstall on 15 computer. Bye Bye Panda.
     
  9. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,699
    It's possible that in a week or two, Panda will automatically update to the new version.
     
  10. Bill K

    Bill K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    Naperville IL
    While that is possible, I also contacted Panda support directly. The good news is that I did receive a response within nine hours, but this is what they advised:

    In this case we recommend you to reinstall your Panda product. In this case, I would like to advise you a complete reinstallation of your Panda by following the uninstallation and installation instructions provided below in order to have it sorted out...

    Again, I find this completely unacceptable and am therefore switching to a different security solution.
     
  11. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,699
    So do I. I had hoped that given time, it would automatically update, which is what happens with some updates.
     
  12. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    751
    Location:
    Italy
    I agree, it's not the best way.
    But all you have to do is to download the installer and run it. It will uninstall the old version, ask you to reboot your PC and then install the new version.
    It won't remember your settings, but the free version has very few settings, so you'll take just a while to set them back
     
  13. Bill K

    Bill K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    Naperville IL
    I was a paid user of Panda Dome Advanced, and while I think the software should have automatic updates (especially for security software) I could have lived with having to manually install the new version if their uninstaller would be smart enough to maintain your existing settings. Since they apparently can't figure out how to implement such a basic feature in their product I've decided to move on to another product which better meets my expectations. To each their own...
     
  14. nord1

    nord1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Posts:
    126
    A real pain in the *** program. Borked my Windows7 Ultimate laptop when it uninstalled. Had to run my system repair disc to reset the BIOS. Moved on immediately.
     
  15. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,242
    Location:
    Hawaii
    My grandson's Win7-based PC has used Panda for quite a while. For several years, he has surfed the net rampantly, with no regard for shark infested waters. :eek:

    To date, Panda has run smooth as silk, lighter than a feather, and there have been no shark bites. None! Go figure. o_O
     
  16. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    423
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    It uses artificiall intelligence in the cloud too
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2019
  17. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    552
    Location:
    Belgium
  18. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,354
    I guess there are still some Pandas stucking at version 2014 out there. :blink:

    I will never ever understand this "problem" and I never got a reply from Panda support to any question, it's a shame ...
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    866
    Location:
    California
    I am using Panda Free and it is at v19.00.02. Is that the latest version?
     
  20. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,699
    It is.
     
  21. Lordman

    Lordman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    Spain
    I have installed panda free some days ago and It shows me 20.00.00 version.
     
  22. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    679
    Location:
    sweden

    Is that true even for the free version?
     
  23. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,699
    I was unaware the v20 had been released. But a quick Google search revealed that both free and paid versions are now at v20.
     
  24. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,288
    Location:
    USA,IA
    I like panda but don't understand why they do t implement a auto update for version to version
     
  25. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,354
    It's true but I'm afraid you won't get auto-upgrade in the next 5 years. :'(
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.