New (old) computer: Pentium D or 4?

Discussion in 'hardware' started by Luxeon, Dec 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Luxeon

    Luxeon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    127
    I'm going to our property disposition place today to pick up a computer. My old computer is a 2001 Dell with a P4 1.7ghz processor, 40gb hard drive and 1gb ram (maxed out). Windows 7 Ultimate, and I tinker with Linux Puppy (not dual boot).

    I have a choice between a Dell P4 for $75 and Pentium D for $100. Both have 80gb hard drives and 2gb ram, upgradeable to 4gb, I think. Not sure of the year of manufacture. I can't recall the model numbers, but maybe Optiplex 620?

    Anyway, my use is pretty light: surfing, word processing, etc. No gaming or video editing, though I would like to be able to copy DVDs (my current computer can do it, but boy is it slow!).

    Is the $25 for the Pentium D worth it?

    Thanks,
    Bob
     
  2. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    USA
    Bob, I'm amazed that your 2001 Dell is even capable of running Windows 7! But as it somehow obviously is, I'm not surprised that it runs very slow. I believe the primary difference between the Pentium 4 and a Pentium D is that the latter is a 64-bit processor (capable of running a 64-bit OS). With those PCs, especially your 2001 Dell, you would realize better performance and compatibility running Windows XP.

    Scott
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2011
  3. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
  4. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Hi Luxeon.

    If I remember correctly, all Pentium 4s are single core processors while some Pentium D processors are dual core.

    Provided all else (RAM, CPU clock speed, OS, power supply) is pretty much equal, the dual core CPU should be preferable.
     
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,980
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  6. Luxeon

    Luxeon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    127
    Well, I picked up the Pentium D model. 3.0ghz, 2gb ram, 160gb hard drive.

    I like it! It is running W7 beautifully--boot from power button to desktop is 42 seconds (which includes typing a long password).

    To clarify: my old system ran W7 ok (a testament to W7's effeciency), it just wasn't snappy, and it certainly didn't have enough oomph to run Aero, let alone copy and shrink movies in any reasonable time.
    Also, the hardware was so limited I couldn't upgrade it to accomodate newer tech.

    mack_guy911: I still have a soft spot for Linux. I've used versions of Mint, Peppermint, and PCLinuxOS. They were excellent, but in each case, something went wrong that I couldn't seem to straighten out so I went back to W7. I still download and tinker with distros via live CD (about to try Mint 12!)
    I still use Puppy because, though it has its own strangeness, it simply works and doesn't require a full install (I use both multisession DVD and frugal install).

    JR: I looked at the site, and my old 1.7ghz CPU was rated #1235 (avg CPU mark 201), and the new 3.0ghz one is #791 (avg CPU mark 813).
    Holy cow! Looking at the charts, CPUs have really advanced.

    Anyway, I got the tower, 17" LCD, keyboard and mouse for $135!
    Merry Christmas to ME! :D
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
  7. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
  8. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,025
    Location:
    USA
  9. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    You won't get aero but it will run. It would be like running it in a virtual machine. However that 16GB of hard drive is exactly the amount of space it took to install Windows 7 alone the last time I loaded it, so your would need a much bigger hard drive than that.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.