New larger hard drive still shows size of old hard drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by sparky201, May 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sparky201

    sparky201 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    I am using True Image Workstation 9.1 and made a backup image of my laptop hard drive to a usb hard drive. I changed the drive on my laptop from a 20GB to an 80GB. I installed the new hard drive, booted from the CD rescue media and restored the image to the new hard drive but it still retains the old hard drive size. How can I resize the new image to the whole size of the new hard drive?
     
  2. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Which partitions need to be expanded?

    One easy way would be to do a another restore but do a single partition restore of C only (or of the partitions being enlarged) overlaying the existing C data. During the process, you will get a chance to resize the partition to the max or your choice.

    You can get an idea by reviewing my guide on line 3 of my signature. The guide shows all partitions being restored but you only want to expand one or two, etc. Review the guide and ask other questions.

    Or, another alternative is here.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1044452&postcount=2
     
  3. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Oops ... I see Grover already has it covered. :)
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    sparky201,

    Is it a Dell laptop with MediaDirect? If so, could we see a screen shot of Disk Management?
     
  5. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Using Windows Disk Management, does the drive show as 80GB with 60 GB unallocated or does it show everything as a 20GB drive?

    As Brian has requested, a picture is worth a 1000 words. Posting the screen capture will help.
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Grover, a good compromise.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.