New laptop with Vista 64. How do I secure this thing?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by brjoon1021, Aug 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brjoon1021

    brjoon1021 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Posts:
    143
    Hi,

    I have XP computers that I am only running SandboxIE on now. But, I can't even run that with this new OS as far as I can tell. I only want pretty stable options. Returnil does not seem to be able to run on this OS, either. I really don't want AV, AT, AS software anymore, they never found anything of note and they really slowed down my computer.

    What are you running on your Vista or XP 64 bit boxes to keep them secure?Somehow, I don't think that this is the Fort Navarone that Microsoft would have everyone believe. I would like to run something like Sandboxie or Returnil as long as I can save data between reboots. I do an on-demand regimen every weekend: online scan at Kaspersky.com, bitdefender.com, AVG.com. Even though I am running naked, I still have not had any problems yet. But, again, would like some kind of backup or something.

    Thanks,

    B.
     
  2. kr4ey

    kr4ey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Florida USA
    I am running only Avira AntiVir Premium

    I have SAS on demand and MBAM on demand.

    I think Sandboxie has 64 bit version.

    http://www.start64.com/
     
  3. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
  4. kr4ey

    kr4ey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Florida USA
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2008
  5. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    No knowledge of Vista 64, but Comodo Firewall Pro (with D+, a HIPS) has a vista64 version.
    32.3Mb (the download page, not a direct download.)
     
  6. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
  7. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    What version of Vista are you running? Ultimate, Home, Basic, etc? If Ultimate or Business then you're in luck for they contain Local Security Policy (this is all I use...but 32 bit) in Administrative Tools. If not, then you still have Limited User Account to fall back on.
     
  8. kr4ey

    kr4ey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Florida USA

    Information to show there is a 64 bit version to you and any one else on the forum that would liked to know not necessary OP.

    There is no Forum Rules

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/tos.php

    That say I can't post a link to information, it is credible website.


    If you have problem with it bring it up with Forum Admin.
     
  9. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    No problem at all just wondered why one would stray from the no better then then maker it self and the most help and current information is always best from the original.cheers
     
  10. kr4ey

    kr4ey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Florida USA
    He updates his website with new software versions and news everyday, he is very good about that.
     
  11. Arup

    Arup Guest

    LUA+Avira+DEP for all and Vista firewall in inbound/outbound mode. Dont bother with 3rd party HIPS, most dont run well due to patch guard in x64. Use the built in Windows Defender and enable Spynet and you have full blown HIPS in x64 mode.
     
  12. MitchE323

    MitchE323 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Posts:
    156
    If you scroll down that page and click 'download' - it just takes you to the normal SandboxIE site for version 3.28. So I don't know what's up with that.
     
  13. Stephen2_Aus

    Stephen2_Aus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    Vista 64 is a tricky beast.

    There are no good HIPS softwares that run on it. There are also no good Sandbox/Virtualization softwares that run on it.

    I ended up using VMWare to run WinXP for all network stuff, disconnected Vista from the network to totally isolate it and run no security stuff.

    Works very well.
     
  14. kr4ey

    kr4ey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Florida USA
    It is just news and software compatibilty information site for 64 bit users all the software listed there is posted like that (linked to another website).
     
  15. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Sounds like great advice to me a slim,Fast,Secure machine.
     
  16. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I am slowly migrating to Vista 64. Right now I only have Look´n´Stop firewall, Boclean, Windows defender, UAC and Software Restriction Policies. I love the speed of Vista 64 the way it is now and I feel secure enough.
    There are no AV´s that I like that are made for 64bit yet and I´m not sure that I´ll bother to install one even whenever some good AV is made true 64bit.
     
  17. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    I'm new to this part of security. I know what Avira is, but can somebody please tell me what LUA and DEP stand foro_O??

    Thanks in advance...
     
  18. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    LUA=Limited User Account

    DEP=Data Execution Prevention
     
  19. brjoon1021

    brjoon1021 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Posts:
    143
    Thanks everyone, I am the OP. Sorry it took so long to get back to the thread. I am using Home Premium - it came on the laptop. I will google and search for it, but how do I enable DEP ? I looked in the Security Center and it is not listed. Some googling came up with everything but how to initiate it and where to find it o_O
     
  20. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Type DEP in Help and Support's search window and it will tell you how. That is the way I found it :)
     
  21. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    right click computer, properties,advanced system settings.
    under the title "proformance" click on settings.
    click on the data execution prevention tab.
    enable it for all programs and services.
    need to reboot to enable.
    your processer should support hardware DEP.
    it will tell your at the bottom of that tab.
     
  22. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    322
    I've been using Norton Antibot on my Vista x64 system, seems to work fine for me.
     
  23. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    Ntldr Bot Rootkit

    Prevention

    Restricted user account of the Windows Vista x64 with SP1 installed.
    Or Windows Vista x32 SP1, because this rootkit will not run on it.
    http://forum.sysinternals.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=14844&KW=vista kernel

    Karlchen
    Why from your point of view can there be no good resident antivirus software?

    EP_XOFF
    Because it will always work on the same level as malware (as for now, being installed, some soon well-known malware works on much more deeper level than for example kav). Solution already developed. It is called x64 Windows Vista with admin rights turned OFF. But never use Internet Explorer any version, because it was never being under refactoring and it is still one of the main gates from which malware get into computer.

    later...
    Windows x64 is new, contains several security improvements that built-in kernel and it will take some time for malware developers to port their crapware to it and adapt it.

    There is a wonderful example. Notebook with preinstalled x64 Vista Home as operation system configured in the following way.
    Two users:
    - administrator (full admin rights)
    - computer user (user rights only, UAC turned ON, security permissions turned OFF)
    Preinstalled some software like MS Office 2007, some games and tools etc.

    User can't act as admin. User working with system about one year without any malware, even if he constantly browsing internet, downloading a lot of stuff. If he needs something new to install - he ask admin and admin doing the work. No antiviruses, HIPS and other paid idiocy installed. One year of constant working and no signs of malware.
    http://forum.sysinternals.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=14399&KW=vista kernel


    EP_XOFF and his other incarnations provide a lot of useful information.
    His views about WinVistax64 are top notch, being on MS development team.
    Try the setup he recommended for his friend.
    As for HIPS, AV and virtualization, when you find x64 compatible ones you should use them.
    A few extra layers of clothing is better than becoming an ice cube.

    HTH
     
  24. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    I'm gonna HAVE to get me a 64 bit computer real soon it looks like.

    Later...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.