New Laptop - maximum protection with...

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by cozumel, Aug 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cozumel

cozumel Registered Member

... lowest impact on valuable laptop resources. Please base you recommendations on experience if at all possible

Priorities:
    1. Resources. This is for a laptop and I don't want my battery running out due to security software repeatedly using virtual memory. I don't want the laptop crawling either...
    2. Standard of protection
    3. Price

My flat was recently burgled with my laptop and desktop machines both gone (amongst other things).

I am a student and lost a lot of assignments etc. But the good news is all software is cheap as I get massive student discounts. So, I've ordered a new dell outlet laptop (delivery next week) and will reformat disk, install Windows 7, MS Office Academic, Firefox and Photoshop thus getting rid of all Dell programs.

I don't want the Norton or Mcafee option that Dell supply as I have always found them to be a drain on system!! They will be wiped!!!

I last used nod32 but have found out that I can get Kaspersky 2012 AV or IS for half price as a student. I know that NOD32 and Kaspersky AV are both as brilliant as each other (on desktop rigs) but need to know about which one for laptop. Is Kaspersky Internet Security a good option for a laptop (remembering that resources and protection are my primary concerns)? What about ESET Internet Security? Or should I have a separate firewall and AV program to save resources? Are there any other good quality options you recommend through experience? I don't mind paying for the right software....

@ Fanboys: Please don't use this thread to start an eset v kaspersky argument. This about resources and protection on a laptop.
    Thanks for any advice.