New Iron-Version: 16.0.950.0 Stable for Windows

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Daveski17, Dec 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
  2. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    thanks Dave
     
  3. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    You're welcome.
     
  4. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks, Dave! :D
     
  5. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    So can this be installed over an existing install of Iron and it will keep bookmarks, extensions, etc?
     
  6. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    You're also welcome. (I do hope they don't 'pull a Firefox' & release a 16.0.950.1 or something in a day or so ... ) :D
     
  7. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yes. If you have Fanboy's adblocking list employed, you will have to deactivate your UAC before you can paste it back into the adblock file on the C-Drive. You can turn on the UAC again afterwards.
     
  8. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    What about the portable version? Does that also need UAC off/on?
     
  9. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yes. I just wasted the profile again on my portable. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong with this. I'll try again later when my nerves are better! o_O
     
  10. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    I've never needed UAC off to paste a file in the Program Files directory. It should correctly ask you for elevated privileges when you do that, which you can just agree to.
     
  11. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It's a notepad file in Local Disc (C) - Program Files - SRWare Iron - adblock (it's also a .ini file).

    I've always had to switch the UAC off on both Vista 32 bit & Win 7 64 bit. They recommended this on their forums originally.

    There may well be an easier way, it would be better.
     
  12. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    thanks. I just checked out the new "extensions" area and hate it. I searched for extensions I already have installed and they won't show up in the search results.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 22, 2011
  13. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    New? Isn't it the same as the last upgrade? I usually bookmark it on the personal bookmarks bar to ease updating.
     
  14. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Maybe check yourself to see if you get the same page as I got...in my picture above is the extensions page I land on when I click on the link for "get more extensions".
     
  15. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    You can still use this. :thumb:
     
  16. HKEY1952

    HKEY1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    648
    Location:
    HKEY/SECURITY/ (value not set)
    When upgrading SRWare IronPortable, only replace the 'Iron' folder, not the 'Profile' folder in order to preserve
    the previous settings of IronPortable. Path = IronPortable\Iron\


    To accomplish this, expand the SRWare IronPortable.zip file to an temporary folder, then,

    Delete the orginal installed 'Iron' folder from the IronPortable\ installation folder,

    The Path is now = IronPortable\

    Copy the 'Iron' folder from the temporary folder to the IronPortable\ installation folder.

    The Path will once again = IronPortable\Iron\

    Also replace the IronPortable.exe in the IronPortable installation folder. IronPortable\IronPortable.exe

    Delete the temporary folder.


    In regards to Extensions, always install the Extensions from the Google Chrome Web Store.
    The Extensions will be Installed in the folder: IronPortable\Profile\Default\Extensions\

    Google Chrome Web Store:
    https://chrome.google.com/webstore/category/extensions


    HKEY1952
     
  17. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    It doesn't matter what kind of file it is, write access to the Program Files directory is restricted to admin only. As soon as you try to paste a file, UAC should pop up asking for permission.

    However, modifying the file will only work if the program (e.g. Notepad) that is being used to modify it is running with admin priviledges.
     
  18. mrpink

    mrpink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    376
    May i ask why you guys prefer adblock.ini over ABP?
     
  19. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    Never, ever, ask Daveski why he prefers something ;)
     
  20. mrpink

    mrpink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    376
    Ah...ok, got it! lol
     
  21. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I'm running as admin. The file just wouldn't save until I switched off the UAC.
     
  22. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Ouch ... my ears are burning ... :eek: ;)
     
  23. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK, thanks a lot. I appreciate it. :thumb: :)
     
  24. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    Time for some dairy-free, yolk-free, sugar-free eggnog?
     
  25. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I'm not even sure what eggnog actually is. But some real (non-pasteurised) ale sounds like a good idea. ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.