New Install - ZOMFG n00b :)

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Steve_K76, Aug 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Steve_K76

Steve_K76 Registered Member

Hello peeps. New here but long standing user of NOD32.

Have recently landed a new job (thankgod) which has thrown up some interesting challenges. Apart from the joys of learning new and interesting (not to mention mind numbingly hard) things, processes, procedures, responsibilities etc... I've now got a linux server to content with. Alas I'm from a MS background so I'm on a mission to learn linux now as well... hmmmpf :oops:

OK, the situation is:-

10 x User PC's running Windows XP

1 x Linux File Server (running samba i think, hey I'm new to this Linux malarky :D )

Whats the best way to go about a network install?

We've purchased a 10 users business version of nod32.

I'm thinking:-

Install NOD32 on XP machine (we have one which is always on 24/7)

Install ERA_Server on same machine, set to update on t'internet

Create file share on linux server for mirror, everyone has READ access

Install ERA_Console on my xp machine

Connect to server via ERA_Console, configure mirrors, create packages and push installs to remaining machines....

Am I right in thinking that or is there an easier way?? I'm confusing myself i think.

I was hoping I could just install ERA_Server (or some tool/official app) on the linux box, let this get the updates and save them in the file share. clients simply get updates from there... and i connect straight in via ERA_Console. oh how i wish it was that easy??

Any help would be great.

2. Brambb

Brambb Registered Member

ESET File Security for Linux supports making a mirror for workstations, for more information how to you can read the manual.

I have also made it work, and I am not the unix guy of our company either :] It is all pretty simple!

3. Steve_K76