New install TI9 - BSOD to reboot?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Jeff_H, Nov 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jeff_H

    Jeff_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    I just helped a buddy install TI9 Home on a P4 2.4GHz, 1GB memory, 250GB PATA HD, w/ Windows XP Pro SP2. Install went fine, but upon start of the program it BSOD's before we even get a chance to choose an option on the screen. The BSOD goes by so quickly that I can't read the error code, and then goes to reboot. A simple move of the mouse on the TI9 screen causes the BSOD and reboot.

    Downloaded the 3677 update and installed - same result. No other program on the system causes this behavior. What do I do to get to a point where the TI9 install doesn't cause a BSOD and reboot?

    I'm sure there's more info you need - let me know and I'll "fill in the blanks."

    TIA,

    jeff
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    First thing to do is get yourself back into the computer :)

    As XP boots hit F8 and get into safe mode.

    Goto the start button and choose run, then type in msconfig from the tab marked startup untick TrueImage monitor and Timountermonitor.

    Click OK and reboot the system see if you can get back into XP.

    We'll go from there.

    Colin
     
  3. FBMachines

    FBMachines Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    229
    Location:
    Texas
    Quote taken from http://www.edbott.com/weblog/?p=1211. This should let you get some more info about what is causing the problem.

     
  4. Jeff_H

    Jeff_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    Guys,

    Thanks for the replies. I'll do what both of you suggested, and get back to the forum. It will likely be this weekend or early next week, as my buddy has a trip starting Thursday.

    I appreciate both your posts. I've yet to see this behavior out of TI, so I'm a bit puzzled by the BSOD.

    Jeff
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Jeff_H,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please perform the action described in this previous post of mine to enable Windows mini-dumps that will allow us to investigate the problem thoroughly and to provide you with a possible solution.

    Please create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  6. Jeff_H

    Jeff_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    Aleksandr, thanks for the post. I haven't had an opportunity to get w/ my friend to do any of the suggestions that have been posted to my request. I appreciate your response. I hope later this week to get to the machine and diagnose the issue.

    Regards,

    Jeff Heyen
     
  7. Jeff_H

    Jeff_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    Aleksandr, after too much travel, I'm back home and was finally able to get at my buddy's system. I suspected that there may be system issues, but it was totally pooched. I did a Windows XP Pro SP2 reinstall, did all the AV/spyware installs, Office XP, and assorted utilities. Before I installed a software firewall I installed ATI 9, then the update. Created a Rescue CD, and proceeded to do a backup to an external USB hard drive.

    So, as I suspected, it was his system, and not ATI 9 that was the problem.

    Jeff
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.