New install - New probs ?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by StevieO, Sep 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    Hi,

    Just done a fresh install on an XP PC using ZoneAlarm free v5.5.062.000.

    For some unknown reason Prevx looks like it was trying to use Explorer to get out ?

    Prvx-Exe.png

    Also Prevx is unable to get out the other way ?

    Prvx-2.png

    I havn't blocked it at the FW, only set it to ask.

    Any ideas ?
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello,
    Prevx does not use Explorer.exe to communicate out but it does load a module into Explorer.exe for some of the new protection engine.

    Could you try adding prevx.exe and pxsecure.dll into the trusted lists?
     
  3. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    Thanx for your prompt response.

    prevx.exe is already included in the FW + WinSonar program lists.

    pxsecure.dll is nowhere to be found in this PC after a search, even with hidden files etc shown ?

    When i installed Prevx i was offline, which i always prefer to do. I noticed Prevx tried to call out during this, so i wonder if it installed correctly ?
     
  4. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    Hi, BUMP about pxsecure.dll etc ?
     
  5. guest

    guest Guest

    I am using 3.0.1.65 (public version from homepage) and I don't have pxsecure.dll either at my system? But I saw this .dll definitely when I had the Release Candidate with new feature 'SafeOnline' installed. So maybe there is no such .dll in our version? Could this be the reason for not finding it? :)

    And btw I had the same error very often yesterday. As I said in another thread my firewall (Fritz!Protect 02.04.03) was the reason. There seems to be a nasty bug in it. Of course I don't know what's the problem on your system. But you could uninstall and then install again when you are online. You have to be online anyway using Prevx if you want to be protected (cloud software, it has so far no local antivirus database).
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I have it in the RC .200!!! So it must not be in 3.0.1.65

    TH
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 24, 2009
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Yes, you are correct :) The 3.0.1.65 version does not have pxsecure.dll in it and in that case, Prevx would definitely not use Explorer.exe to communicate out online, so, I'm not sure what the cause of the warning would be, SteveO :doubt:
     
  8. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    guest

    Looks like your'e right !

    PrevxHelp

    So no pxsecure.dll after all. I think i might have a bodged install due to not being online ?

    But i would have thought Prevx should allow this type of install, and just update etc on the first available live connection.
     
  9. guest

    guest Guest

    Prevx is cloud software = needs internet connection for doing its work! - If you are not always online (preferably behind a NAT-Router of course) then Prevx maybe is not the right choice for you. - After installation it immediately scans your pc (should go very fast) and then at least after the scan wants to connect to the cloud to check if you have malware. Otherwise it is not able to do that because (right now) it has no local av-database like other software.

    If you think your installation is gone bad then simply uninstall, reboot and try again installing but this time being online. Though I don't think something did go wrong. Prevx should be able to be installed offline I believe but I never tried that (always being online). But it is not working if you never go online, that's for sure. :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2009
  10. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    guest

    Yes Thanx i was aware of that. Prevx seems to be working after all, as it's detecting new Malware i've been downloading, and a GMER FP, again !
     
  11. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    If you could please follow this post to send us the information on the FP, we will have it corrected ASAP :) https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=245129
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.