new in true image ! An advise

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mantra, Dec 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,148
    i used for years year dive image and after ghost
    now i would like to test acronis true image , i downloaded the trial version

    i would like to know if is better (more safe) make the image offline with the cd boot or under windows ?



    i read a lot of gooods about the 8 version , has the 9 version the same system engine ?
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Normally no -- I always make my images under Windows.

    However, if you have a shaky system (one that crashes as soon as a moth lands on it) then, using the boot CD/Linux environment might take the risk of a crash out of the equation.

    OTOH some people feel much happier using the boot CD as then there is nothing from Wndows running that could put a spanner in the works.

    Colin
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2005
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,148
    does ti copy everything ? Restore original disk signature & Restore MBR o_O

    to restore Should i use the bootcd or?
     
  4. Marmaduke

    Marmaduke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    I downloaded the trial version 9.0 last night. Needed to clone a hard drive. If you want DOS mode forget it. I made the boot disk and tried to use this in DOS mode. Notice pops up telling you only the retail version will work, the trial version only works in Windows. As it is, when you start the Windows version it re-boots into DOS and does work. So I wasted a CD making a boot for nothing. As it is I have a problem with the trial version I'm trying to get help on in another post.
     
  5. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    I think you mean it reboots into Linux mode.
     
  6. KennethS

    KennethS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Posts:
    145
    Hello,

    No Expert I, but...

    It is my understanding that you you image a partition the image does NOT include the MBR.

    If you image a whole disk, the image DOES include the MBR.

    All the best,

    Kenneth
     
  7. Ozmaniac

    Ozmaniac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Posts:
    254
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Kenneth is absolutely correct. If you want the MBR, then you MUST image the entire disk.:cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.