New Hard drive in Acer problem

Discussion in 'hardware' started by misterbounce, Aug 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. misterbounce

    misterbounce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I have just bought a new hard drive for my Acer Travelmate4060 as it had died. I have fitted the lovely shiny new one, with no problems that I could see, but when I try to reload windows, it says I have no hard drive fitted. Is it just a case of getting windows to recognize the new hard drive?? How? help!
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
  3. misterbounce

    misterbounce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    When I go into the BIOS, I just can't find any way to get the laptop to recognize the hard drive. On the info page, the HDD model name and number is blank, and the arrow up and down, and Change values function don't work
     
  4. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Try re-seating the hdd into the connector. I do not know if Acer uses a ribbon cable or or a fixed connector.
     
  5. KookyMan

    KookyMan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    You have a Manufacturer and Model Number in your BIOS?

    Usually you just have drive geometry. Since this is a laptop, and with that tidbit of information, I'm wondering if your BIOS is vendor locked for hard drives. If it isn't one of the pre-encoded drives, it won't recognize it. Would be a great way to guarantee that customers came back to you for "upgrades."
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.