New Firefox Browser Version Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JRViejo, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    136
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Did they change the font in the new version? I found it a bit different (especially for the address bar).
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    35,560
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  3. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    35,560
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  4. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,938
    "1578807" is really bad, happens also to v70/71 without any clue.
     
  5. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,264
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Thanks for posting. After updating to Firefox 69, I had noticed that something was not right with the search engines. I didnt know what it was but I knew something was not right. My policies.json file thats configured to get rid of them is not working in Firefox 69 but since they are still gone from the list of engines when you search and not in Options (because of the bug), and I still have Google for search available (my search engine), I didnt bother figuring this thing out. FWIW, after updating to 69, I created a new profile for testing and the engines were there (the opposite of what I see in my current profile).

    Bo
     
  6. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,251
    Location:
    .
  7. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    17,324
  8. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,528
    does anybody know how to remove "recently bookmarked" section from the bookmark menu without setting "toolkit.legacyuserprofilecustomizations.stylesheets" to true?
     
  9. SouthPark

    SouthPark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    USA
  10. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,528
  11. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    35,560
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  12. SouthPark

    SouthPark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    USA
    It is, but I didn't explicitly change it.
     
  13. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    17,324
  14. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,528
    i presume you migrated from 68 to 69. i installed 69 from scratch. the boolean is set to false by default in 69.
     
  15. SouthPark

    SouthPark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, I just updated an existing installation.
     
  16. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,264
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    As I understand it, the preference is set to true automatically when at the time of the update to 69 you are currently using css. In your case, since the installation is clean, you have to set it to true or if the preference was not already there, create it and set it to true. Afterward, your css should work fine.

    Bo
     
  17. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,528
    ok, thank you. :thumb:
     
  18. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,528
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...-version-released.361562/page-97#post-2855160

    i don't want to use that boolean, because, now that it's deprecated, i'm certain that it will soon be removed completely.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2019 at 5:40 AM
  19. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    35,560
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Schedule Update. Still on track.
     
  20. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,264
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I haven't read anywhere that the preference is gonna be gone. Even if its gonna disappear in the future, it doesnt matter. If you want to use css, you have to use the preference.

    Bo
     
  21. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    305
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    Why do they keep removing the api and bits that made FF worth using? They seem to think making it more and more closed and uncustomizeable and looking more and more like chrome is a good thing. If I wanted a browser like Chrome, I'd install chrome. Bad enough MS Edge has gone over to the dark side in the developer edition. I'm happy giving up a few milliseconds to keep .css working. Too many slower functions handled by my anti-malware seem to be shoehorned into FF just because the opposition are doing it rather than from any need. :(
     
  22. Keatah

    Keatah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Posts:
    976
    So they can put it back in at a later date? You know.. makework..
     
  23. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,315
    Comment #23 in this old bug (https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1046166) is about userContent.css. Of course it's still there but if they ever do remove access to userContent.css and/or userChrome.css, that'll be a dark day for me.
     
  24. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,264
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I feel the same, Vasa. If they ever do it, there ll be a lot of angry people throwing eggs and tomatoes at Mozilla.

    Bo
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.