New Firefox 3.0 alpha blocks malware, secures plug-in updates

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Sep 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,757
    Location:
    Texas
    Story
     
  2. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    Hello,

    I wonder if the final version of Firefox 3.0 will support Windows Vista security features : binary compiled with ASLR, and with a "Protected Mode" option to run as a low integrity level like IE. Would be nice.

    Regards,
    gkweb.
     
  3. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,785
    Installed it today to have a look, installs into another directory so I can use both FF 2 and the alpha separately, but looks like it shares the same profile. I don't see anything new in the options yet. Don't know if I should have removed 2.0.0.7 first though. Or create a separate profile maybe... not sure..

    Seems a little slower than v2, also can't Edit this message, clicking on Edit does nothing, had to return to v2 to edit this. Also my mouse gestures extension doesn't work in 3, but that's to be expected... I guess Alpha means Alpha eh? ;)
     
  4. tlu

    tlu Guest

    Protected mode is already possible as described here - it must be done manually, though.
     
  5. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    Hello,

    I already know how to do it, as I posted it on February :
    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,17807814?hilite=uipi

    However, that is not exactly the same as IE Protected Mode as I explain in the post (Temp folder issue), and as you mentioned, it has to be done manually, and every time you start firefox that way Vista asks you if you really want to run it... that's not what I call a native and transparent Protected Mode :) I'm doing that anyway for the moment, in the hope of a built-in Protected Mode in Firefox. Also, Firefox is not compiled with ASLR unlike IE, you can see it with ProcessExplorer from Mark Russinovich.

    Regards,
    gkweb.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2007
  6. GrailVanGogh

    GrailVanGogh Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    US

    You should be using a separate Profile if you are trying out Minefield.

    There are enough differences between Fx v2 series and v3 beta series in the prefs.js that you could mess up Fx v2 Profile.

    Many extensions that work in Fx v2 will not work in v3 as well as the new security feature preventing extensions from working if they have not been obtained from the Mozilla Addons site and are not using https for updating.

    Edit* Corrected spelling of Minefield and separate
     
  7. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Built in anti malware detection!!!!! KICK ***!!!!!!!!
     
  8. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Before it became a FireFox clone, Netscape had anti-malware capabilities too. I used it for a little while but it never detected anything.
     
  9. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,785
    Alright thanks. I removed it for now, but if I try again I will use a new profile..
     
  10. GrailVanGogh

    GrailVanGogh Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    US

    Your welcome.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.