New feature on True Image One click restore ?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by selkov, Apr 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. selkov

    selkov Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    177
    One click restore!
    Awesome concept..I think.

    How does it work?
    If I made a backup of files or a partition.
    And my sytem crashes..
    ...Can I take the b/u to another cpu for emergeny usage?
    ....What software would need to be saved on the back up?
    .....TI safe version?
    ......TI Full version>
    .......With or without the One click restore?
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello selkov,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Backup Software.

    The Acronis One-Click Restore is a minimal addition to your rescue media, allowing one-click data recovery from an image archive, stored on this media. This means that at boot from the media and clicking “restore” all data will be silently restored to the original place. No options or selections like resizing partitions will be possible.

    In order to use this feature you should enable this component in Tools->Options->Default backup options->Media components only.
    Please be aware that in case you restore image using this option onto another computer then some of your existing data on this computer may be lost since it restores to the original location (the same sectors may already contain some data on a new machine).

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  3. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Yes, but you would only want to access the data files and copy them to the other computer. You would have to "plug" the image (assign a drive letter to it) to copy the files you need.
    None, the software would have to be installed on the other computer.

    You can't normally restore an image that contains the operating system and program files to a different computer because the hardware is different.

    If you have a data only backup (file backup or data drive) you can restore the data, but be careful that you don't overwrite the data on the second computer. This is especially true if you are restoring an entire data drive. The previous contents of the target drive are permanently gone when you do this.
     
  4. xuecheung

    xuecheung Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    no good feature.because all partitions will be deleted.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.