New DrWeb 4.31

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Trans, Feb 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Trans

    Trans Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    76
    Do you know anything about it ?

    It is ready to come out as I manage to translate
    from a russian site (4.31.00)
     
  2. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    From www.drweb.com:

    "New Dr.Web® version 4.31 (including programs for Windows 95/98/Me/NT/2000/XP, DOS/386, OS/2 and Novell NetWare) was released on February 04, 2004 and now its virus database includes 45906 virus records. The following changes and improvements are made:
    Startup files checking is improved;
    Memory operations are optimized;
    The analysis of ZIP, CAB and CAB SFX archives and MIME-objects is advanced.
    Cure,delete and move methods of infected files are modified;
    Ability of file executing from Dr.Web scheduler when Internet connection exists is added;
    Automatic interception of mail connections algorithm in SpIDer Mail is modified, ability of manual connection setting is added;
    Algorithm of virus activity checking in outbound mail messages allowing blocking or unloading of dangerous processes is added."
     
  3. Trans

    Trans Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    76
    Installed and running !!! :)
     
  4. tahoma

    tahoma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Posts:
    228
    running nicely here too :D
     
  5. StevieV

    StevieV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    I run Dr Web as a back up scanner (KAV as primary). When I tried to update to 4.31 from 4.30 I get error messages saying 'registration key mismatches version of the program!' It then tells me that this is just an evaluation version. Before I tried to update via the update function in the program 4.30a, it told me my version was out of date and wouldn't update the defs. My licence is not due to expire until Sept 2004. Any help gratefully received.

    Steve
     
  6. wizard

    wizard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    818
    Location:
    Europe - Germany - Duesseldorf
    Can you check in your key file if your subscription is limited to a certain version? As an example my (old) keyfile looks like this:

    Code:
    [Key]
    VR=[whatever]
    AP=[whatever]
    CR=[whatever]
    EX=[whatever]
    SE=[whatever]
    Version=All
    Applications=DrWeb386,DrWebWCL,DrWeb32W,SpIDer9x,SpIDerNT
    Created=[whatever]
    Expires=[whatever]
    SubscriptionExpires=[whatever]
    Does your key show under the point Version the value "All"?

    wizard
     
  7. StevieV

    StevieV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Hi Wizard

    Thanks for the reply. No, it shows 4.30. Does that mean I cant upgrade? I don't have a problem not being able to have the latest version as long as I can still update my dafs, Unfortunately 4.30 doesnt deem to update defs beyond 1.02.04.
     
  8. wizard

    wizard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    818
    Location:
    Europe - Germany - Duesseldorf
    Yes it looks like you can't update any longer since new signature updates would require DrWeb 4.31. Strange behaviour of those DrWeb people if you ask me.

    Also strange is that there are some sites on the web that sell limited keyfiles of DrWeb. So if anybody is intrested in DrWeb it would be best to buy at http://www.dials.ru/english/. They sell yearly keyfiles that allow to use all new versions released during the subscription period.

    wizard
     
  9. StevieV

    StevieV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Thanks for the reply Wizard. Looks like I've wasted my money doesnt it!!!! :( . As you say, very strange move by Dr Web. Think I am going to be getting a new on-demand scanner, not Dr Web this time.

    Thanks for your help.

    Steve
     
  10. Trans

    Trans Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    76
    You can only update manually downloading add-ons
    from the site :doubt:

    http://www.dials.ru/english/
     
  11. StevieV

    StevieV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Thanks Trans. I have e-mailed Dr Web and will post any reply I get. In the meantime I will switch to another AV for on-demand. Shame really, I liked Dr Web and would have expected better from them.

    Steve
     
  12. wizard

    wizard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    818
    Location:
    Europe - Germany - Duesseldorf
    Yes it is. For me it is just not understandable why DrWeb is sold in such different ways. Anyway for those who are intrested into DrWeb the Dials site offers only the choice to buy a full yearly licence which is compared to the DrWeb site much cheaper (US $ 30 compared to 50 Euro). Also if I look at the prices at this DrWeb Online Shop I find it unbelievable that they are charging 10 Euro for EMail notification of new updates. This service is totally free at the Dials site even if you are not a customer of Dials.

    wizard
     
  13. StevieV

    StevieV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Hi Wizard, I might do as you suggest, although next time I will get a license which allows for updates. Still haven't received a reply from Dr Web, I am hoping they will make me a new kew file so that at least I can finish off my subscription period. If they aren't willing to do that, purchasing a new subscription which can be updated with new versions of Dr Web is an option, although I woud probably find an alternative on-demand scanner. Once again thanks for the assistance.

    Steve
     
  14. kloshar

    kloshar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    279
    Location:
    Europe, Slovenia, Bre?ice
    Sophos had that number of viruses 2 years ago.
     
  15. wizard

    wizard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    818
    Location:
    Europe - Germany - Duesseldorf
    Those numbers say absolutely nothing about quality and detection of av software because every vendor counts differently.

    wizard
     
  16. Trans

    Trans Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    76
    After some days using , 4.31a now,I want
    to say about new SplDer Mail that it works very
    good !!!
    It detects without any configuration even
    Opera's M2 mail client
    and scans everything succesfully without problems...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.