New Drive Snapshot build released.

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Aaron Here, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,623
    I have it installed, but it's not in there.
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,805
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Put snapshot64.exe and the batch file in the same folder and Run as Admin (the batch file)...

    Code:
    @echo off
    CD /d %~dp0
    snapshot64.exe HD1:* "D:\DS_backup\$DISK.sna" -Go -R -o -L0
    Save your defaults in DS before using the batch file.
     
  3. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,623
    I selected all three partitions (see below).

    [​IMG]

    But these are the files I got. Would that be right?
    I guess you need separate folders for backups with this application. :eek:

    Drive Snapshot Files.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2019
  4. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,623
    Save your defaults??
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,805
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    That is splitting. You need to put 0 in "Maximum image single file size", remove the tick from Hash File Options if you don't need to create Diffs, then click Use these settings as the default. Then click OK. DS will remember these defaults.

    Now you will only get one image per partition.
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,805
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    See #1230.
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,805
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    An entire disk restore batch file...

    Code:
    snapshot64.exe --EntireDisk "D:\DS_backup\hadron_C.sna" HD1
    Only one image needs to be in the line.
     
  8. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,623
    What do you mean: "Only one image needs to be in the line?"
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,805
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    In the above line you have hadron_C.sna. But hadron_D.sna and hadron_E.sna will be restored too.

    Edit ... your drive letters would be different.
     
  10. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,623
    OK. So, what you are saying in a restore operation, you only have to select one .sna file and my three partitions will be restored.
    There is a small learning curve to understand how this thing works. ;)
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,805
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Keep the batch files for the future as you can backup and restore from the GUI.
     
  12. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,623
    Will this batch create different file names so there is no conflict?
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,805
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Correct. To do this from the GUI click Restore complete Disk from Images.
     
  14. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,623
    I thought the batch was for scheduling.
     
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,805
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Yes. See #1218.
     
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,805
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Yes it is. Or you can run it manually.
     
  17. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,623
    I was planning to create a schedule.
    Not sure exactly what it does yet compared to a standard Windows schedule.
    I guess I'll find out.
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,805
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I misunderstood. You can put dates and I think times in the filenames.
     
  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,805
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I always use a standard Windows schedule.
     
  20. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,623
    OK. That'll do me. :)
     
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,805
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I like DS. I like apps that you can use from batch files. They can be easily automated.
     
  22. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,623
    Thanks for the crash course in Snapshot, Brian.
    Things that seem like errors, aren't really errors.
    It would take awhile to understand the unusual intricacies of this program on my own. But once the finer details are explained, it seems like a nice light backup utility.
     
  23. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,623
    So, what does the batch file have over a standard Windows schedule?
     
  24. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,805
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    The Scheduled task runs the batch file.

    Stand by.
     
  25. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,623
    I'll try it.
    I don't know what Stand by means, but I'll try it.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.