New Drive Snapshot build released.

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Aaron Here, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    NY, USA
    I believe the last few (frequent) releases corrected some minor Win10 Build 1803 compatibility issues.
     
  2. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,149
    We'll never know according to the logs. :D Great program though. Quick and restores have never yet failed me. I previously used Paragon Hard DiskManager, but it doesn't get much simpler than with SD. Portable too when messing with someone else's system.:cool:
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2018
  3. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    NY, USA
    I had a failed restore with build 18135 (which I reported). The problem seems to have been resolved with build 18139. I've been using DS ever since v1.42 and my recent failed restore attempt was the first time I experienced any kind of a problem!
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2018
  4. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,349
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Thanks @Wendi for sharing your sour experience with that build for you. This is very important information and glad the developer corrected it with the latest version, because like you, I have never since Windows 98 ever had a single failure with DS at all.

    I not done a restore in many many months and don't expect to but am relieved to learn that issue (whatever it was) is been fixed.
     
  5. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,149
    Updated release:
    Drivesnapshot 1.46.0.18148 (x86) 418096 bytes (size changed)
    Drivesnapshot 1.46.0.18149 (x64) 419632 bytes (no size change)
     
  6. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,349
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Thanks @Adric nonetheless. Since I am returned to on 8.1 mostly anymore (never really left-just interrupted by 10) it doesn't move me to update as often as before. @Wendi's June disappointment kinda is expected as software vendors scramble to play cat & mouse with Windows 10 ever-changing updates possibly throwing a monkey wrench into the machinery so to speak.

    Luckily the next release appears to fixed the issue @Wendi experienced. A first ever.

    DS is never once failed me, and still hasn't, however there is no interest on this end to play with fire. 8.1 is just fine.

    DS64 bailed the tail recently when there was a hardware HDD irrecoverable problem. Just glad I took a recent DS and had it stored away in case of just what happened. The restore went as expected on the new HDD and I must say I am always impressed with the record DS is given me in 100% picture clear restores and not a single mess up. It just does what it was meant to do. Macrium is faster for me, but DS is still there to save the day when I skip a MR image too long.
     
  7. zorro51

    zorro51 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Posts:
    60
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Do you use a Livecd or other, in case the restoration goes wrong on Windows?
     
  8. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,349
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I been using Macrium as a first choice strictly because it offers a Live in my case USB to use to restore. DS on the other hand is a little bit tricky, at least for me anyhow. I used to glean some pretty useful batch files and commands that made DS perform and over perform in other ways such as differential backups. Restores normally are something of a chore for me but I gotten used to it over the years and because DS is not failed me once, no exaggeration, just fact as Joe Friday would say, even since Windows 98. That's saying a lot for a little bitty file that sparsely weighs in at such a small size.
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,221
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    You can even use your Windows boot disk to do a DS restore. The boot disk is acting as a live CD.
     
  10. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,349
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    :thumb:
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,221
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    This is using Win10 but Win7 and Win8 are almost identical.

    Using a Win10 UFD. If using a 64-bit boot disk you need to use snapshot64.exe
    Boot the disk
    accept US keyboard. Enter
    Repair your computer
    Troubleshoot
    click Command Prompt
    diskpart
    list vol
    (make a note of the drive letter you will need to use)
    exit
    (now the prompt is X:\Sources> )
    (change to the drive letter of the UFD or HD partition containing snapshot.exe. For example...)
    G:
    (now the prompt is G:\> )
    (you need to know if snapshot64.exe is in the root or in a folder. If it was in G:\abc\def you would type...)
    CD abc\def
    (now you can run snapshot)
    start snapshot64.exe (or just snapshot64.exe)
     
  12. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    525
    Location:
    sweden
    Hi
    I`ve tried this program a while and like it very much, now i want to buy it.
    Anyone knows where to find a discount coupon?
     
  13. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    NY, USA
    To the best of my knowledge there are no discounts available. A single (lifetime) license is 39 Euro (44.51 $US) directly by email [http://www.drivesnapshot.de/en/order.htm]. If you can't afford that you could legally continue to use a 30-day trial/evaluation version (as the latest trial version is just about always released on a monthly basis)! :shifty:
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2018
  14. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    525
    Location:
    sweden
    No discounts available now or whenever?
    I`ve searched the net and did not find any for now, so for now seems to be right.

    Is this program really updating that often?

    I will buy it anyway because i like to help and support GOOD programs that way.
     
  15. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    2500'
    I've owned it for years and can't ever remember a discount being offered. That said, it's more than worth the price asked, and it's saved my bacon a time or two as well.
     
  16. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    NY, USA
    @pb1, I have a license and have been using DS for (at least) 8 years. As Blues7 indicates, I have never seen any discounts or promotions.

    To answer your question about monthly updates, while I suggested that a new build is released just about every month (if not more often) I do not believe that every monthly release contains enhancements or bug fixes (of course, some do)! It's my belief (in those instances) that it's their way of promoting their product. ;)
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2018
  17. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,349
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    This is so very true. As already mentioned the benefits will far outweigh the price. No one is more suspicious or skeptical of PC software then myself, but this one is also stood the test of time and many Windows versions. To make a claim of zero issues is very rare because software's and even the machine it's in itself can Burp! right out of the blue and at the worse times I might add. But Shadow Defender and this Imager are IMO cleverly crafted enough and proved me the results I never expected. That is a 100% success rate for many years and lots of usage on some pretty crappy drives too. It just does what it was designed to do and stable dependable restores in my book are all I ask for in a good imager.
     
  18. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    525
    Location:
    sweden
    Thank you guys for the info. Appreciate it.

    Not Always functional - sounds disturbing.

    I can see a lot of improvments in the program, so what are thoose updates really about if they do not improve the obvious?
     
  19. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,349
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    You are quite right in that respect. Something I never ever noticed before. I can't honestly say when it was introduced or if it's been there all along, but while doing a restore last week to a new HDD, and almost ready to START, it prompted whether or not if I wanted to restore to the entire capacity of the new Disk which happened to be double the size from the image taken. That made my day.

    I must have missed it in Macrium because when I did a similar restore with that Imager, there was no warning and after the Macrium restore I had a huge amount of Unallocated Space-whereby I opened a new topic in here asking the best choice for a Partition Manager that could safely merge-expand that same disk.

    So yeah, I have to agree, DS is improved along those lines too because I don't remember ever seeing that before.
     
  20. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,110
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    That option has always been available during REFLECT's restoration process, but it required a manual setting by the user under "Restored Partition Properties" just in case the user didn't want to use all the extra space for that one partition. Even Windows "Disk Mgmt" can do that expansion after the fact. But I guess an inquiry by the application for such a change is just as good.
     
  21. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,349
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Thank You @TheRollbackFrog for this information. It will prove very useful next time, and there will be a next time, that I do a MACRIUM restore where the target disk is much larger capacity than the image. Strange it doesn't automatically recognize that difference and alert to it like Drive Snapshot did but then as you say, that does require a manual setting by a user.
     
  22. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    NY, USA
    @pb1, You misunderstood what I meant when I suggested that some DS builds do not contain 'functional updates'. That's my fault as I should have used the phrase 'enhancements or bug fixes' instead of 'functional updates', and I will edit that post to remedy that. That same paragraph in post 1116 explains what I (and others) believe is DS' rationale as to their regular monthly releases (when their are no apparent changes in the program's functionality).
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2018
  23. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    525
    Location:
    sweden
    Drive snapshot and Macrium reflect has the same problem. When you do a restore, and you know what you do, you should not have to do all these clicks. Without them the procedure would be so much faster.

    Ok, got you! Thanks.

    The obvious i was thinking about is the restore procedure. As a newbee all this clicking can be necessery but after that, no. There should be a way to "untick" all that. Without this monitoring the restore would go MUCH faster.

    Macrium has the same problem.

    Quite annoying.
     
  24. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,110
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    I don't consider those type of restore selections a problem. It's a matter of what DEFAULTs should be, and each application author has different ideas about what those should be. I know I would be pissed if some imager took my 220gB restored partition image and spread it across my new 3tB disk :)

    The question... "Would you like..." which requires a response to continue, and an option to accomplish the same with (2) mouse <click>s is really not very different from one another... and the difference in timing is not something I would call a problem, it's just a "difference" in the philosophy of the application authors.

    I am a user who likes to know my tools and what they're capable of... that means I must learn them. When you learn them, these types of issues don't exist. Utilities cannot possibly guess what type of user is using them, and intuitiveness on the part of the tool is what has driven most of Microsoft's changes (as bad as they've been through the years) and caused so much consternation on the part of its users. "No, Microsloth, you don't know how I want to do things!"

    Both approaches are fine as long as the user can do what he needs to do... and neither is... "a problem."
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2018
  25. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,221
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    pb1,

    The DS web site has command lines that enable you to do backups and restores with a mouse click. They work well.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.