New Drive Snapshot build released.

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Aaron Here, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,759
    @Cruise , @oliverjia , @Brian K

    Guys I do not see the bug that you are complaining about. DS correctly identifies linux swap partitions in both mbr and gpt disks.

    May I ask what program you used to create the swap? BIBM?
    BIBM does not set correctly the swap partition id,
    it uses the old id ebd0a0a2-b9e5-4433-87c0-68b6b72699c7 ,
    instead of using the new (June 2011) identifier 0657fd6d-a4ab-43c4-84e5-0933c84b4f4f .

    edit: I just retested and see the same result with yours. On gpt disks even with the new identifier DS copies as byte per byte the partition, even though it identifies it correctly as linux swap partition. On mbr disks it does not happen (takes a second to create the backup).

    Panagiotis
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2017
  2. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,798
    The Linux SWAP on my computer was created by Ubuntu installer automatically. I used the "wipe whole disk and install Ubuntu" option. So I think it should use the new partition ID for the SWAP partition.

    Anyhow, Acronis has never bothered to solve this issue since I reported this bug to them a few years ago. DS used to have this same issue at the same time when I identified this bug in Acronis, however, DS corrected it quickly back then when I informed them. But unfortunately the same issue returns to DS now. That's what I was wondering about: Do they have any sort of QC before they release a new build? Apparently not, because a Linux SWAP under UEFI/Secure boot scenario is very common nowadays. They'll have identified the bug if they even do a very general backup/restore test on any Linux OS under GPT/Secure boot.
     
  3. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    USA
    Actually, I did not complain about DS wrt linux swap partitions (I do not use linux). I just inquired if @oliverjia reported his problem to the developers. I use DS in my Win7 environment and it has been working perfectly! :thumb:

    Cruise
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,456
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Panagiotis,

    I created the Swap partition with BIBM. The GUID Type is {0657FD6D-A4AB-43C4-84E5-0933C84B4F4F}

    After creating the partition you have to click Properties and select Linux Swap as the Type otherwise the Type remains as Normal Data. Same method when creating a Linux Native partition. Change Normal Data type to Linux Data.
     
  5. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,759
    Thanks for that. I always did it the hard way with diskpart set id. :ouch:
     
  6. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Another monthly release:
    Drivesnapshot 45.0.17655 (x86)
    Drivesnapshot 45.0.17656 (x64)

    64-bit file size different that previous version.
     
  7. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,798
    Yeah, hardy sent me an email this morning. This release is to fix the Linux SWAP bug that the previous built has. Hardy was on vacation in the past couple of weeks, hence the little delay fixing this bug.

    Edit: I restored my Ubuntu box with Win10 so now I don't have a Linux SWAP to test if they fixed this bug. It'll be great if some wilders here could test this new built to see if the Linux SWAP bug is gone.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2017
  8. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Another monthly release:
    Drivesnapshot 45.0.17664 (x86)
    Drivesnapshot 45.0.17665 (x64)

    No change in file sizes.
     
  9. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Another monthly release:
    Drivesnapshot 45.0.17679 (x64)
    Drivesnapshot 45.0.17680 (x86)

    64-bit file size different that previous version.
     
  10. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    555
    Location:
    NY, USA
  11. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    866
    Thanks Wendi :)

    NoVirusThanks portable MD5 checksum tool v3.2

    File: setup.exe
    File size: 5.47 MB (5,739,400 bytes)
    MD5 checksum: B6E5B1812A3D260E327D4859E64E9C48
    SHA1 checksum: 5643F9920CAB8FF7E44FFBF266983F2111A7DED6

    File: snapshot64.exe
    File size: 382 KB (390,960 bytes)
    MD5 checksum: 94D685E64E8E1A371C2E48D9C20924CE
    SHA1 checksum: 5BBB9C8C90EC0627C2B38CA63039D1439AC3ACF2

    (activated)
    File: snapshot.exe
    File size: 395 KB (404,272 bytes)
    MD5 checksum: 70AA0588EC43F7C28D76E048067E8E08
    SHA1 checksum: C11999D4629A9BAF96BB4B8A2C42BDE8EAC24AAE

    ...........

     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2017
  12. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    I get a different md5sum for the x86 version. Downloaded it twice.
    cae71e5d801a7a99100ab92d98c0ece7 *snapshot.exe
     
  13. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,798
    Same here. Maybe they made a silent update without changing the built number? Or maybe the installer is compromised with some malware? Judging from the small size of the installer which is still close to its original size, I'd say it most likely a silent update.
     
  14. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    866
    I've just freshly downloaded the x86 version unregistered file

    The downloaded file unregistered is

    File: snapshot.exe
    File size: 395 KB (404,272 bytes)
    MD5 checksum: CAE71E5D801A7A99100AB92D98C0ECE7
    SHA1 checksum: 296D5D1E4D0086D6FE7DAA327AD4F4A35CAB54CC

    After entering my registration/activation details the same file is

    File: snapshot.exe
    File size: 395 KB (404,272 bytes)
    MD5 checksum: 70AA0588EC43F7C28D76E048067E8E08
    SHA1 checksum: C11999D4629A9BAF96BB4B8A2C42BDE8EAC24AAE


    I mentioned in my original post that I'd checksumed it after registration 'activated'

    By entering my registration details this must have made the difference to the checksums

    By the way, there is no malware. I re-checked both files before and after registration with Avast pro and MalwareBytes Anti Malware
    (both updated) 'no malcious items were detected'

    Next time I post a checksum, I will post all three files before registration. My mistake. :)

    Just a little note

    Each new 'installation'/registration of the same x86 file in different parts of the pc requires that you enter registration details

    It's not one of those programs where when you enter your password it is for the whole pc. It is just for that file. So always keep a copy of your original downloaded file stored if you are going to use DS x86 it in multiple places on the same pc unless you are going to copy and paste the whole registered program to wherever. I hope that makes sense and I haven't overcomplicated things unnecessarily :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2017
  15. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Another monthly release:
    Drivesnapshot 45.0.17690 (x64)
    Drivesnapshot 45.0.17689 (x86)
     
  16. Atari800xl

    Atari800xl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Posts:
    46
    Well, Tom Ehlert is the master of efficiency, and I guess he didn't want to waste any bytes on an a separate license file (after creating a whopping 400kb exe file for the application itself). So indeed, he injects the license info straight into the .exe as well. :geek:
    You can check this by keeping an original download version (as you mentioned), and a licensed one. You can easily compare these two versions by using the "fc" (file compare) command (using the "binary" switch):
    fc /b before\snapshot.exe after\snapshot.exe > diff.txt
    The file "diff.txt" now lists all the bytes that were changed, in fact they're just your entered text in ASCII (not encrypted). So the program just looks "inside itself" to see it it's licensed or not.
    [And: No, you can't use a hex editor and enter just any old text there, the program is smart enough to check your name with the serial]

    [PS: Gotta love this guy, it's all about the code I guess, never spends any time or money on this website]
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2017
  17. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    I've never noticed this before, but whenever I backup the live system and later restore it with SD. the restored partition is always flagged dirty and I need to do a chkdsk with /f to clear the the dirty bit. Chkdsk ends up not finding any problems.

    If I backup a non-active system, this never happens. Can't SD keep the dirty bit from being set when backing up an active system?
     
  18. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,759
    Actually he "wasted" a few bytes for a separate license file.
    If you put the license file in the same directory with the snapshot.exe, it sideloads the info without modifying the executable... but I do not remember the name and extention of the license file. (I have it backed up in one of my old disks but I do not remember in which one and am lazy to check them all).

    Panagiotis
     
  19. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    So you don't use SD anymore or do you re-register for every new version?
    The license file would avoid having to re-register every new release or did I misunderstand?
     
  20. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,759
    I use it only in one system but have not updated it for more than a year....yes, I had register the executable.
    5-6 years ago that I used it more often and updated the installer every month I used the licence file.
    Correct. you just update the installation or the exe without needing to re-register every time.

    Panagiotis
     
  21. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,759
    I think that I remember the name of the file. It should be named
    Code:
    lic-Drive snapshot.txt
    or
    lic-snapshot.txt
    or
    lic-[whatever name you want].txt
    Add the registration info in that file and put it in the same directory with snapshot.exe.
     
  22. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Nice. Thanks for the tip - lic-snapshot worked for me.
     
  23. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,759
    You're welcome.:)
     
  24. Atari800xl

    Atari800xl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Posts:
    46
    Thanks for that great tip!
     
  25. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,759
    You are welcome.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.