New Drive Snapshot build released.

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Aaron Here, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    HI Paul

    I have in the past always done DS snapshots from the Macrium RE, using the file explore.. Just slower then this new restore.
     
  2. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    Thanks for trying that. Something I don't understand : you say you cannot perform an "entire drive restore" but you said you restored an image of a UEFI Windows 10 drive to a blank one. You mean you restored the partition structure then each partition ?
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Emailed support this morning and have heard back. It was questions, but they are on top
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,240
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    MerleOne,

    You can't perform an Entire Drive restore using the non boot disk method Pete described. A boot disk is required.

    An Entire Drive restore is much easier than using previous DS versions. It's an "all in one" method. The backup has created 4 images (of my 4 partitions on the GPT disk). Select any image and DS will restore the partition structure and all 4 images. You will recall previously you had to restore the partition structure and then restore each image individually.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,240
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Paul,

    In 64-bit Windows you can use either DS version.
    In a 64-bit WinPE you must use a 64-bit DS version.
    In a 32-bit WinPE you must use a 32-bit DS version.
     
  6. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    Thanks for the clarification ! I now wish that the GUI would allow folders/files exclusions...
     
  7. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,727
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Well then this is something of a new milestone for DS and myself if all goes well for my 8.0 and 8.1 units.
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Most imaging programs don't do this, only if it's a file folder backup
     
  9. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    O&O DiskImage, Paragon also propose it. And since it's really a differentiating feature and the CL syntax is not that easy, an inclusion into the GUI would be great IMHO.
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    "propose it" Drive Snapshots beauty is simplicity. GUI mess is the reason I don't use the imagers you mention
     
  11. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,903
    Hardy at Tom Ehlert Software replied to my message. He mentioned that the code for the restore function is the same in v1.44 and v1.43, so he needs more information on the testing environment (WinPE?.Are the images encrypted with Snapshot? Is the destination disk encrypted (Bitlocker,....) ) during your restore in order for them to figure out the possible reason for your slow restore problem.
    Also @Brian K were you restoring your image to an external USB disk or internal HDD when you encounter the slow restore? Is the slowness possibly due to USB speed limit?
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,240
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    oliverjia,

    I checked my notes and found I wasn't using the same computer for both tests. Different hardware. Apologies and ignore my comment about a slow restore this time.
     
  13. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    I don't use them either, I trialled them and now stick with Macrium, R-Drive Image and AOMEI Backupper Pro, I still use snapshot to image a data drive while excluding videos & pictures & downloads to keep the image small, very efficient, I just wish I could use a GUI to add folders I dontt want to image. If it's in the advanced option menu, I see no harm adding it. It's already in the CLI.
     
  14. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,903
    Thanks for getting back to me. No worries, Brian.
     
  15. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,727
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    @Peter2150

    So you simply integrate DS x64 into your Macrium 6 PE USB?

    I don't know why I haven't thought to do that myself. I been a huge DS believer for years since I still never once had a single failure.

    It's like my Shadow Defender, just keeps right on doing what it was designed to do and without any issues.
     
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Nothing to "integrate" I just but the Macrium RE, use the windows explorer to run DS from my second internal drive. The big advantage MR has over DS is restore speed, and incremental speed. Huge difference.
     
  17. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,391
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Trialling DS.
    I am trying to back up my whole C:\ system drive and recovery partitions, etc. (see attached) and restore these again.
    All these files were successfully backed up and verified using snapshot64.exe.
    There is now an option to 'Restore complete Disk from Images' and the option to select W:\$DISK.sna, would this work? That would be awesome.
    But it is unclear to me from posts above (by @TheRollbackFrog, @Peter2150 and @Brian K) that this is indeed possible.
    Would I need to create a DOS boot disk and restore C.sna, HD1.sna, HD2.sna, HD3.sna and HD5.sna individually using the second command bolded here http://www.drivesnapshot.de/en/restdos.htm for each partition?
    Or if using a Macrium PE boot disk, how exactly is this done?
    My apologies for being a bit slow on all this! I am definitely not an imaging specialist :) even though I use Reflect daily, as well as AOMEI Backupper Pro, and ATI.
     

    Attached Files:

    • DS.jpg
      DS.jpg
      File size:
      100.2 KB
      Views:
      10
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2016
  18. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    IF that w:\$disk.sna it should work. My disk is only one partition.

    Where do you have snapshot64.exe located. You can boot to macrium PE, and once it's up, open File Explorer(button on bottom) In File explorer navigate to snapshot64.exe and just double click.
     
  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,240
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Paul,

    Have you created a file called $DISK.sna? I don't think you have.

    Try to create the file and let us know what happens.
     
  20. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,240
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    An Entire Drive image of a UEFI Ubuntu 16.04 system (Ext4 OS partition) was created and restored to a new, empty SSD. The images were restored (Entire Drive method) from a WinPE and Ubuntu booted normally.

    There were 3 partitions. ESP, OS and Swap.
     
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,240
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    This is interesting. You can do an auto Entire Drive restore on a UEFI Windows system.

    Boot your WinPE UFD and walk away. The Partition structure and all partitions on the boot HD will be restored and the computer will shutdown.
     
  22. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,391
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    @Peter2150 - my snapshot654.exe is in c:\my portable apps\snapshot64.exe. Thanks for explaining about File Explorer in Macrium PE.
    @Brian K - I have not specifically created this file, but when I backed up after selecting all partitions it pre-populated the option to back up to e:\drive snapshot\backup_$DISK.sna and created multiple files in that location i.e. e:\drive snapshot\backup_C.hsh and .sna, sn1-sn9, s10-s59. Also backup_HD1-1.hsh and .sna. Same for HD2, 3 and 5 (but this has .sna and sn1-sn5). So no specifically named backup_$DISK.sna file.
    But on 'Restore complete Disk from Images' option it offers the following file: e:\drive snapshot\backup_$DISK.sna
    I would try it but am a bit hesitant without really understanding the process, and test restoring onto my live c: system drive.
    Also I suppose I would need to do Peter's Macrium PE disk boot method, as @TheRollbackFrog intimated that the 'warm restore' method (I think it's called) would not have the USB drivers (my backup is on an external USB disk).
    Perhaps I'll just have to chicken out and stick with Macrium. Just thought DS could serve as an on-demand alternative vendor solution on this machine, so not critical. Just playing around.
     
  23. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,240
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Paul,

    That's right. There is no file created that has $DISK in the name. You ran through the restore process in Windows immediately after you did the backup. You were offered a file that didn't exist. If you click Browse you will see the file doesn't exits. If you run DS from a WinPE you will not be offered a file that doesn't exist. Try running DS from your Macrium WinPE. Don't attempt to restore but just do all stages except the last.

    You have a UEFI system so until you get more experience you should only be creating/restoring Entire Drive images. If you only create C: drive images you will be in for a shock if your HD fails. The restore won't produce a bootable system.

    You can also use your Windows 8/10 disk as per these DS instructions...

    http://www.drivesnapshot.de/en/restwinsetup.htm
     
  24. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,391
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Thanks Brian - will try this in due course.
     
  25. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I invited the Drive Snapshot guy's to jump in here to answer any questions. They can't today, but will tomorrow.

    Pete
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.