New Drive Snapshot build released.

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Aaron Here, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,232
    Location:
    USA
    Wish I could be of help Brian but it's probably W8/UEFI related (I'm still using Win7). I'm at a loss for ideas knowing you surely restored the partition structure. I would suggest contacting DS support.

    Cruise
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2015
  2. donaddams

    donaddams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    mojave Desert
    A new build released Drive SnapShot 1.43.17606
     
  3. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    696
    Just monthly(maybe) build change, but people were never known what were changed.
    Maybe just updated the trial period.
    That is one thing that I do not like of DS.
     
  4. MikeMT

    MikeMT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Posts:
    63
    Location:
    Malta
    @Brian K although this is off the current topic, a word of thanks for your explanation & illustrations of an optimal way of batch file creation for DS.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/an-image-backup-thats-very-easy-to-use.343430

    Although I have been around the corporate IT support block for many years & am very familiar with imagining software from most major players. After reading the sparse help guide included in DS I thought that it would take some time to achieve my desired end result with this product.

    Thanks to you I was able to successfully set up full image & anytime diff image with time stamps batch files in a very short space of time.

    Regards

    Mike
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,220
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  6. MikeMT

    MikeMT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Posts:
    63
    Location:
    Malta
    Bill your most welcome as you saved me a load of time & yes I have been following that thread. With the workstation I evaluated DS on, GPT was not an essential prerequisite.

    I had though experienced the symptoms a while back when building identical workstations off-site. After setting up the first box & imaging with Aomei we were unable to wack it over to other identical SSD’s. If memory serves me well I ended up HDCLONE Enterprising it over to the other drives. Shortly after when there was more time to spare I found that Acronis TI would image OK.

    I have two new file server builds coming in the near future & Aomei is not going to be part of them unless they get their act together in the very near future.

    Cheers for the heads up guys on other incompatible apps.

    Mike
     
  7. Zero3K

    Zero3K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    374
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Is there any way to have it act like AX64 Time Machine? If there is, how do I do so?
     
  8. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,232
    Location:
    USA
    If you are referring to Drive Snapshot, the answer is no. The use of the word 'Snapshot' is actually misleading in that DS is not a snapshot program. After creating a full image DS can make differentials images which take less disk space and less time than the full image, but DS' differentials are nowhere near as fast as AX snapshots. On the other hand DS has been extremely reliable on my 2 MBR PCs, which is more than I can say for AX when I was using it.
     
  9. Zero3K

    Zero3K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    374
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    I'm asking regarding how it handles backups. I want DS to make differentials of the full backup, then delete/consolidate the oldest ones and also keep certain ones like how TM does.

    EDIT: Also, How do I have it minimize itself to the taskbar when its doing a backup via command line parameter(s)?
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2015
  10. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,903
    From your signature:
    "Security Programs currently being used - AX64 Time Machine" ---- are you serious?

    AX64 TM is not a security program, not even remotely related. If you computer is infected with malware, what AX64 will do is to go ahead and backup that malware-infected OS for you, so that you'll have a OS with malware next time you restore.

    Be it AX64 TM, be it DS, none of any of these disk imaging apps will save your computer from malware infection.
     
  11. Zero3K

    Zero3K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    374
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    What about when I restore from a backup/snapshot that doesn't have the malware files in it?
     
  12. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,903
    That should be fine. But with Windows OS, as time pass by, there is a relatively large chance that it'll be infected, sooner or later. What I normally do to minimize the risk of backupping an infected OS is to:

    1. separate OS partition from data partition.
    2. only image an OS partition right after a fresh install and update
    3. keep a serious AV and risk mitigation kit
    4. restrain from visiting dangerous websites.
     
  13. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,232
    Location:
    USA
    DS doesn't delete/consolidate differentials. There's no way to make DS work like AX, but you might look into Macrium Reflect 6, as it probably comes the closest to doing much of that.
     
  14. Zero3K

    Zero3K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    374
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    I have an issue with it. When I try to mount a differential image, the following errors are shown:

    23:13:33 Start of Snapshot 1.43.17606 [Feb 9 2015] at 2/27/2015
    23:13:33 Running on Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit Service Pack 1 (7601)
    23:13:33 Memory Info: Total: 3070Mb, Free: 456Mb, Pagefile total: 7164Mb, Pagefile free: 3993Mb
    23:13:33 Command line: "C:\Program Files\Snapshot\Snapshot.exe" "D:\Snapshots\DifImg-2015-02-27_2100.sna" Z: /V
    23:13:33 Timelimited TrialWare - use possible up to 3/25/2015
    23:13:50 ***********************************************************
    23:13:50 Snapshot error NTCPVOL2FILE, line 5629
    23:13:50 No end record found in D:\Snapshots\DifImg-2015-02-27_2100.sna
    23:13:50 ***********************************************************
    23:13:50 ***********************************************************
    23:13:50 Snapshot error NTVDISK, line 3247
    23:13:50 unable to retrieve necessary offset information for file D:\Snapshots\DifImg-2015-02-27_2100.sna
    23:13:50 ***********************************************************
    23:13:56 Error occurred - exitcode 1
     
  15. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,232
    Location:
    USA
    You should report this (with your system config) to DS support...
    te@drivesnapshot.de
     
  16. Zero3K

    Zero3K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    374
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    i let him know about it. Btw, I figured out how to have no console window when mounting one of its images. I did it by doing the following:

    1. Download the silentcmd archive from https://sites.google.com/site/miffthefox/silentcmd.
    2. Extract its contents to a temporary location and drag silentcmd.exe to C:\Windows (or wherever Windows is installed).
    3. Open Registry Editor (regedit) via the Run dialog box accessible by pressing Win+R.
    3. Modify the (Default) value of HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Snapshot-File\shell\open\command to include the location of the silentcmd program at the beginning of the value.
    5. Close Registry Editor.
     
  17. cesabo

    cesabo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    United States
    With respect to the inquiry regarding consolidating differentials, a while ago while perusing switches on the website (http://www.drivesnapshot.de/en/commandline.htm) I noticed the following which certainly appears to be a means by which differentials can be merged to create an updated full image. I've never tried it, but it seems worthy of an experiment.

    --merge:new_full.sna diff_image.sna (Combines a full and a differential image into a new full)
     
  18. Zero3K

    Zero3K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    374
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Can it be used to merge multiple differentals?
     
  19. SLE

    SLE Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Posts:
    361
    You can decide for one and that will be merged with the last full image. That's all.

    I don't no, what do you mean exactly with merge "multiple differentials"? but other ways make no sence.
     
  20. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    USA
    DS v1.43.17634 (64b) and v1.43.17635 (32b) are available to download.

    PS: After I posted this I notified Brian K, so he re-tested DS using this latest build and it passed his W8/UEFI test! Since the prior (Feb) build failed Brian's test this (March) build must therefore include a programmatic change even though no change log is provided (as usual).
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2015
  21. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,702
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    A little dated by now but thanks for the info. I only ever always enjoyed picture perfect backups and restores on my windows XP Pro but since transitioning over to 64bit Windows 8 i kinda stayed away from Drivesnapshot until they could catch up. Looks like they did.
     
  22. cesabo

    cesabo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    United States
    For those of you who are interested, a new Drive Snapshot build was released yesterday (version 1.43.0.17720).
     
  23. cesabo

    cesabo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    United States
    There have been a few updates, and the latest release is now version 1.43.0.17743
     
  24. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,702
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Thanks for this heads up
     
  25. cesabo

    cesabo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    United States
    Version 1.43.0.17772 has just been released.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.