New Drive Snapshot build released.

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Aaron Here, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Thanks Aaron. It truly is an intriguing program.
     
  2. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    734
    Good answers. Yes, it is a great product that Aaron introducted me to through his posts...I love it.
     
  3. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Intriguing before you come on board -- remarkable afterwards!
     
  4. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Hi napoleon,

    Glad to hear you have no regrets. Notwithstanding the lack of change-info with each new build, it is an outstanding program that just keeps getting better! :thumb:

    Aaron
     
  5. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    734
    Agreed. A changelog would be nice, but it keeps getting better...and you have to like the size of the app...shows disciplined coding considering some imaging tools out there that have the same functionality are 100-300mb+...
     
  6. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, absolute adherence to the 'KISS' principle!
     
  7. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i noticed you use Win7.

    when i tried DS it completely wrecked the WRE (Windows Recovery Environment).
    i hope it's been fixed since then...
     
  8. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,996
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Really? I use x64 Windows 7 and have never had any issue with it in many restores.
     
  9. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Do you backup the System Reserved partition, as well as the Windows partition?
     
  10. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    734
    The Seeker,

    Yes, I backup all the partitions, including the System Reserved. Note that DS will create a separate image file for each partition. Thanks.
     
  11. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Dear Napoleon,

    Let us say that one doesn't backup all partitions. One only backups the Operating System partition, so in that case is it required/safe to backup the System Reserved partition?

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  12. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    734
    I believe you don't have to backup the System Reserved often (maybe even once?) as it doesn't change. I haven't tried this myself, so I am assuming. It's only 100mb so it takes up minimal space on your imaging target...better safe than sorry I guess.
     
  13. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I got around the System Reserved problem by creating then formatting a partition (using BootIt BM) before installing Windows 7. This way, Windows will not create the SR partition.

    20110830.png

    (First partition contains BootIt BM.)
     
  14. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    734
    Nicely done! I don't like the System Reserved partition...using Server 2008 and Win7 at work, it causes a lot of confusion, etc.
     
  15. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Drive Snapshot v1.40.15876, dated Sept 26 2011, is now available for download...

    ...and of course, no release notes are provided.

    Aaron
     
  16. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    734
    Thanks Aaron...I was just wondering when a new version might be out. :) I'll test it out.
     
  17. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Yw napoleon - a new build is usually released every 5 to 6 weeks. ;)

    Aaron
     
  18. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Well I should have know better than open my mouth - just one day after v1.40.15876 was released, today v1.40.15879 is released (this is a first - has to be a quick bug fix)!!! :blink:

    Aaron
     
  19. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    734
    No kidding...thanks again for the heads up! That was fast...
     
  20. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    -how do you do a DS bootcd?
    also..i do full backups,if ido a full backup on the same partition i ususally store my backups,will the previous image get deleted?
     
  21. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    734
    I believe it comes with a DOS disk, but the best thing to do is to use any existing WinPE CD you might have, launch a command prompt from it when it loads, then browse to and launch the portable snapshot.exe application...I keep snapshot.exe on my external hard drive that I store my images on and launch it from a WinPE CD. From there, you run it the same as you would from within Windows. Let me know if this makes sense.

    As for your other question...I don't believe there is any storing of images for a certain time, etc...I think that unless you name the backup the same as the existing one it will just create a new backup.
     
  22. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    well i always name it the same,with password..i use IFW.
    in DS it can make a bootable diskette..don't know why there is an option to make a bootable cd.
     
  23. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    Once upon a time I used to use Acronis and twice the restore failed. That was a long time ago. So finally I've got a copy of Snapshot and so my question is how do you guys back up your C Drive?

    Do you do incrementals or Full image each time discarding older ones when necessary to keep space?
     
  24. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,355
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Do you really want 100 different answers?
     
  25. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    734
    HAHA...how true. I'll be the first of 100...with DS I just do full backups, and discard only the oldest ones as my external HD space runs low.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.