New Dell Laptop & BartPE - WOW!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by bobdat, Jul 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bobdat

    bobdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    316
    I bought a new Dell Inspiron 6000 laptop with a Pentium 4 760 2.0GHz processor.

    When I tried to use my favorite TI8 build 826 Boot CD it took 1 hour and 45 minutes to create an image of my 40GB drive with 10GB data. S-L-O-W. Then I tried build 903. Same lethargic performance.

    Finally, I created the BartPE CD and booted. It took only 9.5 minutes to create the same image!!! WOW! Talk about fast......

    I wish the TI8 boot CD's Linux drivers were at least USB2 but in the meantime this BartPE CD with the Acronis plug-in is THE WAY TO GO for owners of newer hardware.

    I hope everyone who struggles with the slow TI8 boot CD driver speeds can create a BartPE CD and see the same blazing fast speeds I just did.

    Amazing.....
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Sounds impressive Bobdat.

    I don't have the BartPE plugin but for my information did you add it to the normal BartPE prog or the Reatogo version?
     
  3. bobdat

    bobdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    316
    I downloaded the regular BartPE program as recommended by Acronis and then used the Acronis plug-in.
     
  4. tronic592001

    tronic592001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Wales uk
    bobdat hi!!!

    exactly how do you go about creating the BartPE CD!!

    :eek:
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  6. bobdat

    bobdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    316
    Hi tronic.

    Like Oleg says, go to the Acronis site and log in. Then select BartPE from the submenu. Download the Acronis TrueImage zipped plug-in file.

    Acronis has also furnished a link to the BartPE website. Go to the Bart site and scroll down to download the program listed as for those who don't know which version of BartPE to download.

    Also copy Acronis' instructions for creating the BartPE CD. Just select everything, copy it to your clipboard and paste it into Microsoft Word. You'll get all the graphics as well as text for reference when you start the build action.

    Follow Acronis' instructions on how to build the BartPE exactly. It''s easy if you ignore the BartPE - supplied instructions and use Acronis' instructions instead.

    After the CD is burned, use it to boot up. The only hard part was finding the Acronis TrueImage program in the BartPE submenus. :p Launch TI8 and away you go.....

    Good luck.
     
  7. Please try restore and see how long it takes. My new Dell Latitude D610 notebook works great with ATI8 (903) when creating a image, but it takes three hours to restore the image. Frustrating!
     
  8. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello johnsuperking,

    In bobdat's case there will be no difference as he is creating his image after booting from the BartPE CD. In which case, the same device drivers will be used for a restore.

    Regards
     
  9. tronic592001

    tronic592001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Thank you all for your replies:

    ile start on it soon as im sober:

    :oops:
     
  10. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    Boy, this does sound amazing!! How ever did you come up with it??
     
  11. bobdat

    bobdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    316
    Well, now that you mention it........

    I got the idea from YOU!

    Many thanks to folks like you who participate here and answer the HARD questions for so many of us. You and Menorcaman and a handful of others provide some truly outstanding technical support here.

    Thanks again.
     
  12. ugc

    ugc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    is there any way to copy the bartPE disk to my hard drive (in the secure zone) so when I hit "F11" during boot up I can load it instead of the standard acronis?
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Bobdat, are the TI USB drivers ver 1?
     
  14. bobdat

    bobdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    316
    I really don't know. On my machine they are so very slow they seem like USB1 although they may just not be optimized for my new hardware.

    The confusing thing is that on my older Dell Inspiron 5160 laptop, boot CD's for builds 826 and prior were fast but builds 889 & 903 are slow like they are on my new Inspiron 6000. It seems like something changed in the Linux getup after build 826 that makes the boot CD's slower on all my hardware.

    In any event, the BartPE CD solves all my speed concerns. I hope you are as fortunate. It's well worth trying out.
     
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I haven't done these tests on TI but just copying a large file from my internal SATA HD to an external USB2 HD ran at 24 MB/sec. Copying the same file to the external HD while in BartPE ran at 32 MB/sec. I was pleasantly surprised at the faster rate in BartPE.
     
  16. Tatou

    Tatou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    150
    I haven't got a Dell but a bog standard (if there such a thing) non branded PC with 2 SATA drives, 2 ide drives, 1 DVD, 1 CD 1 external USB2 enclosure with IDE drive.
    I have no problems with the Acronis CD to both see my USB2.0 IDE hard drive nor to write and verify images to it. However it is slow


    But I now use reatogoPE with the AcronisPE plugin as my bootCD. It is faster to write and verify to the USB drive.

    Thanks to Acronis for the plugin.

    PS don't forget to pay for the premium Reatogo. Its a superb effort
     
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Yes, the Reatogo BartPE is a far more interesting CD than the standard BartPE CD but they both work at the same speed.
     
  18. Tatou

    Tatou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    150
    Oops I meant faster than the Acronis Boot not the BARTPE.

    The advantage of the reatogo to me was the integration of my specific hardware drivers into the PE disc but I agree there is no speed advantage over BARTPE.
     
  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Everyone should have a Reatogo BartPE CD. I mean this. It has recovered my computers from potential disaster several times.
     
  20. tronic592001

    tronic592001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Ok ive created the bartpe disk all seems very good, but do i need to keep PEbuilder on my hard drive. or can i delete it!!!!

    :rolleyes:
     
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  22. ianC

    ianC Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    tronic592001 wrote:
    and Brian K replied
    Is it me not understanding or if tronic592001 deletes his PEbuilder he won't be able to make another disk? I guess he could re-install?

    I was inspired by this thread to make a BartPE disk and I agree that it's pretty good!
    The Acronis plugin appears to be version 796; how would I get a plugin that's as up to date as the normal program? I guess I could just copy over the executable and any other changed files?

    Can Acronis support help here?

    Thanks for any help,


    Ian
     
  23. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ianC,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please be aware that Acronis True Image plug-in for BartPE has it's own build number (currently it is 791) which differs from the build number of Acronis True Image 8.0 (the last one is 903).

    Please also note that we are not planning to release new build because the current one is stable.

    If you encounter any problems using current build of the plug-in please feel free to send a description of the issue to support@acronis.com

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  24. tronic592001

    tronic592001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Yes delete bartpe as you have made the CD (thanks to all) and have read links;

    if there is a update then reinstall bartpe and make a new disk:??

    but a bit confused is the version on the bartPE not 903 as if its not this can couse a lot of problems.

    And also by the look of the bootable bartPE i can keep a uptodate virus checker, plus any other programs i need when booting from bartPE, buy simply creating a new BartPE disk!!!

    :blink:
     
  25. ianC

    ianC Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    Thanks to Alexey for that prompt reply.

    I was concerned that build 791 was very old and didn't have bug fixes that were in later releases of the full product. I can see that the full product has many more features and so fixes may occur in parts of the code that don't exist in the BartPE plugin.

    Is it OK to mix use of the full product and the BartPE plugin?
    If I have a full backup from 903, can I use the 791 plugin to do an incremental backup and/or use the 791 plugin to do the restore of a 903 or a 903/791 mixed full/incremental?

    Thanks for all the info.

    Ian
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.