New Comodo is out: 2.3.4

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by brjoon1021, Sep 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brjoon1021

    brjoon1021 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Posts:
    143
    I have not installed it yet... but looking forward to it.
     
  2. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
  3. Demoras

    Demoras Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Posts:
    33
    Cool, I will try this baby out now :)
    ... After I uninstall my current firewall, of course :shifty:
     
  4. brjoon1021

    brjoon1021 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Posts:
    143
    Did not install the new one for me. It says 2.3.4 on the download but it is 2.2in the application. Also, the update crashes every time. Bummer. This along with the fun that I am having trying to figure out what is going on with the Spyware Terminator downloads not matching their checksum, I am liking Linux more and more and more.
     
  5. Demoras

    Demoras Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Posts:
    33
    :eek: Weird. I have the new version and the update hasn't crashed at all.
     
  6. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    The first time ever I could install Comodo ;)

    I think the version is OK and no update issues.

    Gerard
     

    Attached Files:

  7. kdm31091

    kdm31091 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    365
    Kerio has started hiccuping on my computer a little (despite having everything checked, it doesn't want to run at startup anymore, and Windows Firewall remains disabled) so I'm gonna try out this version of Comodo.

    I hope it actually uninstalls right. The last one never really did for me.
     
  8. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,186
    So what is the CPU usage?
    Tell me your machine with it.

    And what is the total memory usage, most interested.
     
  9. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    CPU usage with all toys running 2-3% (total I mean)

    Comodo mem: 47 Mb (3 things running in PE)

    Gerard
     
  10. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,186
    That sounds really bad, 47 MBo_O
    I did not get your PC how fast processor you had?
    I had been thinking of trying Comodo as an interest, but if it is really that bad?
     
  11. brjoon1021

    brjoon1021 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Posts:
    143
    Don't know what happened earlier. But I downloaded again, went through with Windows Explorer and regedit and obliterated everything "Comodo" and reinstalled. I have the new version now.
     
  12. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    What is bad?
     
  13. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,186
    The resource usage, that was so ugly. And you were not even able to tell me how fast pc you were using.
     
  14. ubuntu

    ubuntu Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    China 中国
    2 process cpf.exe + cmdagent.exe
    10- --- 25mb
    normal 10---15mb
     
  15. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK minus 14 Mb for tray.exe
     
  16. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Why must everyone find 1 little error which wasnt comodos fault!

    before this release everyone would say waaa im sad it doesnt work with my avg or waaa too much mem use or waaaa the launchpad annoys me!
    Remember this is a free product at highest quality so support them.

    The comodo team works extremely hard to fix bugs and they even made it look better and more secure it was the the best firewall in version 2.2 and its bestest in 2.3!

    Heres list of everything

    Thats only what they mentioned there was actually more which they didnt say to suprise!

    This release fixed mem problem and cpu problem and gives option to remove launchpad. These were the main problems ive seen people have and the rest were just having a hard time configuring it to work with advanced games that use nprotect and yes i know about it not letting nprotect update but the games still function fine without it!

    Also the biggest problem they had was the installer which is now replaced with their own custom one! Melih the ceo is one of the nicest hardworking owners ive seen he atleast hangs aorund the forum and has fun with the members so even if you dont like the products the forum is fun even though im the one making Melih waste time answering my posts :D

    look at the attatchment i get 21.000kb maximum and no slow down or anything also my computer boots up completely in 50 seconds and under.
    Im using AVG Free, Comodo PF And Microsoft Windows Defender :isay:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 1, 2006
  17. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    So tell me what you think it is normal or suits your demands and why, what is not normal and why.
    Also tell me what is low and what is high.
    Also tell me how much mem you installed and why and how many you want to use maximum. Why did you install that memory, why not less or why not more?
    Ofcource I am able to tell you how fast my PC is: bloody fast :D (for which I use it for)
    Regards,

    Gerard
     
  18. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,186
    You never told gerard what CPU you had.
    Also 47 MB is a bloat by far, if that is really true, it takes THAT much?
    Even with much promised and boasted half memory reduce and resource consumption?
     
  19. Demoras

    Demoras Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Posts:
    33
    Hmm, on my system cmdagent.exe takes aprox. 8MB, and cpf.exe takes aprox 11MB.
    I don't really mind memory since I have 2GB of RAM, but of course I think programs like these shouldn't take a lot of memory, but I'm quite satisfied with these numbers.
     
  20. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Thankyou someone with a normal head.

    2GB is you computer ever slow? If you have dual-core then anyone who said yes must purposely brake it :rolleyes:

    The Picture of my task manager is on a AMD Anthlon XP 3000+ 2.17 GHz And 448 MB Ram
     
  21. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Update: the three .exe files now together 28 Mb after a fresh restart.

    Gerard
     
  22. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,736
    Location:
    New York City
    Can't Install. Get message 1607; Unable to install; Installshield scripting error.
    Oh well. Back to my old firewall.
     
  23. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Wait....
    Comodo is probably still having problems with their upload servers because many other people keep downloading wrong versions like version 1 so wait a couple days you wont regret it.
    Im saying this because they dont even use instalshield anymore after they experienced issues uninstalling so now they made their own custom installer.
     
  24. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,736
    Location:
    New York City
    Coolio10,

    Things seem O.K. now. I was able to install. I'll be spending some
    time this weekend learning the firewall.

    Thanks for your help.

    Thankful
     
  25. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    It is working very well on my system... :)
    Really nice improvements and even more easy to use.

    From what I've been seeing on Comodo Forum, I think that the v3.0 will be outstanding because of the suggested features and its development...

    In the future, only Outpost Pro can compete with Comodo PF...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.