new build - Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation 3886

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tachyon42, Feb 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tachyon42

    tachyon42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    455
    Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation 3886 has just been released together with Universal Restore for Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation 3886.
    I suppose the change log will be as useful as an ashtray on a bicycle so would anyone who tests this build please advise what has been fixed.
    In particular, are there fixes for any of the outstanding problems discussed by Menorcaman in Testing of v9 Build 3854....
     
  2. MarcR

    MarcR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    60
    Installer Bug in new build - Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation 3886

    The 3886 installer has a bug. When installing, it first asks to overwrite a newer file, then complains it can't find another file (the name was special characters - little squares).

    Great way to start a new build.

    The TrueImage runs after the reboot, but I haven't tested it yet.
     
  3. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    Re: Installer Bug in new build - Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation 3886

    It installed just fine for me. It would also restore to the same computer.

    However, the Universal Restore v3886 DOES NOT WORK AT ALL with Vista. After restoring, the laptop of the same make will not boot. It just stops and hangs with black screen.

    I also made a BartPE disk from Mustang's plug in and 3886 and it would not even start restoring. It said I have the wrong serial number. BartPE with v3854 works fine, but no there is no Universal Restore function when working with Vista.

    I wish this company would get off it's behinds and quit putting out beta software. They must be totally out to lunch management wise. The software has the capability to be one of the best must have backup programs, but they just can't seem to get their act together.

    It is apparent from these forums that they need a NEW management adjustment!
     
  4. MarcR

    MarcR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    60
    Re: Installer Bug in new build - Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation 3886

    I tested the install on another computer to see - same errors. But the program does work properly after the install.

     
  5. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    I had some time to play with TI9 Workstation build 3886 in Vista and WinXP. I got some good results.

    The WinXP install had the exact same results MarcR reported. I uninstalled TI first. I've learned not to ever trust TI to install over a previous build. The first thing that pops up is a message that timntr.sys on the system is newer than the file to be installed. It asks if you want to overwrite it. Before I answered, I opened Explorer to see what version of timntr.sys was on the system. I was surprised to see the file had already been deleted. This is clearly a bug. I answered "Yes" to overwrite. (Later I leaned the file version that had been on the system was 3.3.0.444 and the version installed now is 3.3.0.443.) The next message that pops up tells you it can not find a file. The name of the file is just a bunch of square symbols. I hit cancel or ignore and the rest of the install went well.

    The Vista install went off without a hitch. Backups and restores under both WinXP and Vista work well. I restored Vista from the Recovery CD and from BartPE using my plugin. When Vista is restored, you get the screen telling you Windows was not shut down properly. You just need to choose "Start Windows Normally" and it boots right up. This only happens on the first boot.

    Next, I played with Universal Restore. I imaged a desktop and restored it to a laptop. It worked remarkably well. I did it with the Recovery CD and with BartPE using my plugin. Both methods got exactly the same results. On first boot, I got the Windows did not shut down properly screen. I chose Start Normally and the boot continued. The USB wireless mouse didn't work, so I turned on the touchpad. It worked well. It came to the desktop slower than normal and proceeded to do some driver installs. It asked to reboot. On the second boot the USB mouse worked. This is about as good as you could hope for.

    I also found that CD/DVD drives show up as locations to restore from under the Linux Recovery CD. There was a problem in previous builds where these drives were ignored. At least that bug has been fixed.

    It looks like Acronis did a lot of work on the Windows version of UR. I was pleased to see it worked as well as the Linux version.
     
  6. jassethi2003

    jassethi2003 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Have you tried Acronis Snap Restore ?How is it?
     
  7. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    No. I don't like Snap Restore and will never use it. Why don't you try it and tell us if it works?
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Mustang, did you find these edits "not necessary"?

    http://www.multibooters.co.uk/cloning.html
     
  9. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi Brian,

    I did't do any edits. Keep in mind, I didn't try cloning Vista (only restoring an image). I also don't muti-boot Vista. Vista is the only partition on the drive.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.