New Antiexecutable: NoVirusThanks EXE Radar Pro

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by sg09, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,555
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Your suggestion didn't stop it.

    I also set Private FW's rules so that ANYTHING ntvdm.exe tries to do will cause PFW to "Ask". PFW did NOT Ask but meekly allowed ntvdm.exe to execute, whereby Biblecd5.exe also executed. Plus, when I re-examined the new rules I had set for ntvdm.exe in PFW, those rules had all reverted to "Allow". :p

    I then set all PFW rules for ntvdm.exe to Deny. That didn't stop it either. PFW simply reverted the rules to their previous state.

    I then added ntvdm.exe to SpyShelter's "Restricted Apps". Doing this got SS to totally block ntvdm.exe from executing. A *degree of success* - - - HOWEVER, totally blocking ntvdm.exe is analogous to burying your home in cement to keep it from being robbed.

    I couldn't find any way to get SS to "Ask" -- it either blocked altogether or let it go. :doubt:

    I agree with your agree!!!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    I have reported this apparent glitch to support at novirusthanks.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2011
  2. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,557
    novirusthanks, any chance of a feature to confirm the removal of a whitelist/blacklist item/all before it deletes the entry? So as to not remove any list by a slip of a mouse click. Just some sort of comfimation, something like "Are you sure you want the remove the entire whitelist?"
     
  3. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,801
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    +1 :thumb::thumb:
     
  4. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,801
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Wishlist:
    1. Introduce an install mode.
    2. update check on start-up in case user misses update notification mail.
    3. Option to remove master password.
    4. Use master password to prevent unauthorized termination.
    5. Option to customize game mode. That is how to react.
     
  5. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,801
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Another Wish list,
    Ability to customize the default action. By default it is set to "Allow once".
     
  6. novirusthanks

    novirusthanks Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,027
    Location:
    Italy
    @LoneWolf @bellgamin @sg09

    Thank you for reporting the program's bugs and for the new features requested :)

    In few hours we will release a new version, here is the changelog:

    [11-07-2011] v1.3.1.0

    + Added "Behavioral" TAB
    + Added "Action" -> "Block Process" if detected by Process Behavioral Analysis
    + Added "Action" -> "Color Process Name in Red" if detected by Process Behavioral Analysis
    + Fixed bug in TrayIcon -> Processes
    + Set your own quarantine folder
    + Optimized removal of processes protected by password
    + Added "Menu" -> "WhiteList Entire System EXEs"
    + Added "Menu" -> "WhiteList Custom Folder EXEs"
    + Enabled "Allow System Processes" option for Gaming Mode
    + Added option "Block Process + Quarantine File" for "Behavioral" TAB
    + Added "Are you sure you want the remove the entire blacklist?"
    + Added "Are you sure you want the remove the entire whitelist?"
    + Added button to remove master password
    + Fixed a small bug which allowed 16-bit applications running in Windows Compatibility Mode to bypass the current 32-bit process execution protection
    + Optimized Process Behavioral Analysis

    Features that are in the "todo" list for future version:

    -Introduce an install mode
    -Update check on start-up in case user misses update notification mail
    -Use master password to prevent unauthorized termination of EXE Radar
    -Save/Load all settings, blacklists, whitelists, etc in/from a file
    -Support for x64

    All users will receive the download link in their email.
     
  7. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,339
    Thanks for update! Waiting support for x64.
     
  8. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,555
    Location:
    Hawaii
    The speed & excellence of support for this security app are mind boggling. :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  9. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,339
    Really! :thumb:

    Is a program that has everything to be a success! ;)
     
  10. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Big improvements in a very short time :thumb: :thumb:

    But as of last week, all of my machines now are 64-bit :'(
     
  11. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,557
    EXE Radar Pro is looking better and better. :thumb:
     
  12. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,690
    Must be selected users, because I am still on v1.2.1...although I would like to trial the latest, if possible. :cautious:
     
  13. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Me thinks only licensed holders receive the email, not those with just the trial version.
     
  14. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,555
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I'm a licensed holder but still have not received the update. :mad:
     
  15. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
    me neither:)
     
  16. novirusthanks

    novirusthanks Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,027
    Location:
    Italy
    Email has been sent few minutes ago to all customers. Who is using a trial activation code please send the email at support(at)novirusthanks.org to request the download link for the latest version. If you have not received the email, contact me by PM or by email.

    Sorry for the delay, just wanted to run last few tests in Windows 7 OS :)

    @Tarnak @jmonge

    I just sent you now a PM with the download link for v1.3.1 ;)

    Feedbacks are always appreciated :)
     
  17. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks alot:thumb:
     
  18. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,690
    Thanks!...got it. :thumb:

    P.S. Do I have to uninstall the previous version, or if I just run the new installer will that be OK?
     
  19. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,555
    Location:
    Hawaii
    This added capability of ERP is not available in 2 firewalls that I know of. ERP is becoming apotheosis!!! :thumb:

    P.S. - I got the update. Thanks!
     
  20. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,690
    Well, I didn't uninstall first... or shut down the program via the systray.

    Maybe it is why I got the following. I had a feeling this install was going to hiccup. ;)

    P.S. I just kept clicking the ignore button.
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Try exiting Exe Radar (Tray icon - right click - exit), then install.
     
  22. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,690
    That is what I did, next. ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  23. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,801
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Thanks NVT for considering the wishlist. This software is growing very fast...:D
     
  24. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Reboot after the uninstall, solves this problem.
     
  25. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,555
    Location:
    Hawaii
    So, I assume uninstall IS required.

    If so, the lack of ability to export/save ERP's settings is a major pain in the neck. NVT, please add a settings export/import.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.