New Antiexecutable: NoVirusThanks EXE Radar Pro

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by sg09, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,319
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Easter,

    I guess you are using the v4.0 latest beta?
     
  2. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,731
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Yes and I will continue with it. Seems very up to task on this end.
     
  3. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,319
    Location:
    Canada
    Awesome, thank you!
     
  4. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    675
    I just tried to install version 3 and this is the error message I receive- Runtime error 216 at 000000000040BE35. Probably due to the fact that it hasn't been updated in over 5 years.

    I am disappointed that I paid for this back in 2016 and have never received one update.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,006
    Location:
    .
    Did you try to install 'EXERadar_Pro_x86_x64_Trial_Setup.exe' from >
    png_8458.png png_8459.png
    Yesterday, I installed EXERadar_Pro_x86_x64_Trial_Setup.exe = Runtime error 216.
    Then I installed EXERadar_Pro_x86_x64_v3.1_24062015_BUILD1.exe from my saved files.
    EXERadar_Pro_x86_x64_v3.1 appeared to install okay....UI appeared okay.... but, I could not get ERP 3.1 to prompt...as before.... IDK
    Then I installed exe_radar_pro_4_setup_test32.exe from my saved files....appears to install & prompt....as before.
    I'm back with OSArmor 1.5.2...now.
    W10 20H2
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2020
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    I think OSArmor is a post-exploit blocker(like a behaviour blocker) but can be very strong when you play with the advance mode.:) I love it
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2020
  7. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    USA
    I have been using ERP 4 since it's early development days, but I would like to see continued development. I would like to see ERP monitor .dll executions as well. I believe most well coded persistent attacks have been using .dll injection for many years. If ERP is alerting to a threat executing a .exe, then the threat has probably already achieved the first part of it's attack chain, and ERP has stopped it from manipulating the system in some way. The threat may have a hard time continuing it's attack with ERP in it's way, but it has probably already injected into a process running on the system. I definitely would prefer to prevent process injection attacks by monitoring .dll executions.

    I use AppGuard to protect against .dll executions from the user-space and programData folder. I believe ERP should also monitor.dll executions from the user-space and ProgramData folder. I believe NoVirusThanks didn't want to present the user with the additional prompts that monitoring .dlls would cause, but they could have just monitored executions of .dlls from the user-space and ProgramData folder. Monitoring the execution of .dlls from the user-space and ProgramData folder would stop most attacks in the wild that use .dll injection as part of their attack chain. Boy, do I miss the days of Online Armor when I truly felt like I had all my bases covered!
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2020
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    Yeah for me processguard
     
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,629
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I disagree, ERP doesn't need this, it would become too complex. In fact, I have tested ERP on Win 10 and I didn't really enjoy the experience. The goal was to allow as many apps as possible, in order to reduce alerts, and I only wanted to block certain UWP apps. It was a pain to configure, plus screen position and columsize are not remembered. I'm still using ERP on Win 8.1, but it really needs to become less complex, rule making should become easier.
     
  10. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    USA
    ERP seems to have a bug affecting the All List. Not all vulnerable executables from the ask and deny list are showing in the All List. Below are a few that are not listed in the All List. There are probably more than the one's listed below.

    cscript.exe
    wscript.exe
    vssadmin.exe
    mshta.exe
    vbc.exe
    java.exe
    javaw.exe
     
  11. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    194
    Location:
    Poland
    Is this software still continiue ?!
     
  12. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,629
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I think it's dead for now, because NVT focused all his attention on OSArmor which is more of a "set and forget" tool and can be used even by non-geeks, so it's not surprising. Perhaps NVT should add certain features from EXE Radar to OSArmor.
     
  13. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    665
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    interestingly I compiled some modified iso with ntlite and NVT exe radar pro doesn't work at all, this happened to me once I installed zone alarm
    which also have prompts, anyway it doesn't work for me on 20H2 on clean install, I wonder if it depends on some service, component or policy
    to me its the other way around, see why OSA has bad comments and ratings on software distribution sites, the whitelisting is annoying and clunky, even at default the programme blocks too much for average user )
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2021
  14. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,484
    Where can I find a link to the latest beta, and how smoothly does it run on Windows 10 21H1 ?
     
  15. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,731
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I honestly wouldn't know. As @novirusthanks released test versions many of us at the time followed the development and progression of releases. Maybe some kept their beta test version installers or deleting the old ones. But since Windows 98 I keep/kept many security programs even in beta just on an outside chance one of those versions on another machine could prove useful. Currently is running like a charm on BOTH my Windows 8.1 (where it's been since day one release) and now on Windows 10 where it's proving itself helpful and efficient enough.

    I currently use ERP v4.0 Beta (Build 31) and YES it runs perfect on my Windows 10 20h2. The final might been Build 32 but I lost track when OSA overtook the attention away from ERP.
     
  16. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,319
    Location:
    Canada
    The latest Test beta (test32) was released in March, 2019. I'm reluctant to provide a link because they don't want it shared, but Google might just help you locate it ;)

    Just my opinion, but I would not bother trialing it on latest Windows; it's too out of date. A much better option if you have Pro build of Windows 10 is to utilize SRP instead, and deploy a default-deny policy.

    Even if you have only the Home version, you could use Andy Ful's Hard Configurator to utilize SRP, exccept it doesn't support DLL files.
     
  17. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,731
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
  18. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,319
    Location:
    Canada
  19. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,731
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I use it on Windows 10 20H2 Home and while it might not be Mighty Dog, it's useful enough and solidly stable. And that's with Microsoft Defender on ALL settings as well as WVSX. Not a peep of a slowdown or otherwise. It just does what it did before (if any find it useful) before OSA nudged it over to the dusty shelf.
     
  20. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,319
    Location:
    Canada
    Well that's good. As mentioned above, though, too bad it doesn't monitor dll's.
     
  21. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,731
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    TRUE! And Oh Man if only ERP was back in development AND "ADD" monitoring DLL's as well as some more TREATS that @novirusthanks is always been generous about.

    Thanks @shmu26 for even bringing it up. I updated mine another notch to Build 32 which is indeed the last Beta Build that Andreas released.

    If NVT ever does find they can resume active development on ERP again, it's my hope (seeing it too may go subscription based) that they enhance the whole of the GUI into today's more advanced & modern colorful themed flat faced SLEEK Look that many Softwares are bringing out anymore. IMHO that adds to the attraction of powerhouse features built into them and is a noteworthy selling point as well.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2021
  22. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,484
    Thanks @EASTER and @wat0114 for your help.
    I have been out of the loop with OSA. Last I remember, it did not have anti-exe capabilities, and was no replacement for ERP. What's up these days with OSA?
     
  23. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,629
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I tried it months ago on Windows 10 1909 and it gave me problems, the system would freeze. OSA is probably a better option at the moment, but it's not a whitelisting tool like EXE Radar of course. And I suspect that the last freeware version of OSA is giving me weird CPU spikes from the "System" process, so I have removed it.
     
  24. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,731
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    That's a shame to learn @Rasheed187. Both OSA & ERP was a formidable combo I know you liked at one point during early development along with those subsequent beta releases where members/users like yourself troubleshooted and helped iron out difficulties that cropped up.

    On a new machine with Windows 10 20H2 im running Build 32 (last known) works to perfection on it. As for OSA im terribly really on the fence at this time. Its absolutely chalked full of an extremely useful feature set but can't make up my mind (yet) whether to go AndyFul's route w/ Hard Configurator or OSA subscription based. I need more time to determine which choice is best.
     
  25. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,319
    Location:
    Canada
    It's being actively developed by NoVirusThanks, with a nominal yearly subscription fee.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.