New Antiexecutable: NoVirusThanks EXE Radar Pro

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by sg09, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,653
    Location:
    USA
    That's awesome news! Welcome back Andreas! I can't wait to try the latest beta of ERP when it's released. I hope you don't change the UI too much though. I don't think there is anything wrong with the current UI. I really like the tabbing design in ERP, it's so easy to navigate through the settings.
     
  2. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,383
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Grrreat news!!!

    QUESTION: Which Windows versions will be serviced (XP, Vista, 7, 8 10)? (I hope XP is included.)

    SUGGESTION: Keep the present version free, but the new version should NOT be free.
     
  3. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,420
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Thanks! I indeed installed 579 build of HMP.A. Thanks for clearing that up. And apologies for blaming ERP!
     
  4. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,420
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    +1. Yes, I hope it doesn't get too complex. The simplicity of ERP is one of its attractions.
     
  5. guest

    guest Guest

    from what @novirusthanks (Andreas) said, they will redo it from scratch , which is a good thing. However, it will surely take lot of time and testing.
     
  6. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,485
    +1 on that important suggestion!
     
  7. guest

    guest Guest

    -1 for that :D

    seriously, you want dismiss the main strenght of ERP? or i didn't understand what you meant ?

    Personally, i won't like that. Hash is the only way to differentiate a legit file from a counterfeit one. Hash is the file's DNA. I know that ERP is chatty when it involve vulnerable processes but no way i would dismiss it.

    Without hash , how can you differentiate weaponized cmd.exe from legit cmd.exe ?
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi guest

    I doesn't distinguish. You can an alert on any instance of a vulnerable product. Then you have to decide what to do.
     
  9. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,420
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I had added about 150 entries in the Advanced>Vulnerable Processes list, based on Jeff's (hjlbx of old) AppGuard posts re hardening the xml.
    The trouble is when there are Windows 10 upgrades like AU, the hashes change and essentially one has to re-add all the vulnerable processes.
    I noticed this because after upgrade to AU, I was no longer getting the vulnerable process alerts, and on investigation found many if not all hashes had changed. I am sure others can confirm this?
    I have now reverted to just the default vulnerable processes in NVT ERP, as I am now covered by AppGuard with those processes set as User Space=Yes.
    But I was hoping there may be a way Andreas could 'intelligently' update the hashes, rather than having to re-add the processes with the new hash after each major upgrade.
    Sorry, I should have been clearer.
     
  10. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,843
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    What the hell, this is very exciting news! I do hope it will still have a user friendly GUI, so it should be nothing like Smart Object Blocker. What I like about the current ERP, is that it's so simple. I also hope that "install mode" will be improved, it should not alert about vulnerable processes. And if possible, it should have "strict parent-child control" as an option.
     
  11. guest

    guest Guest

    I know you did , but Jeff list isn't supposed to be used in other products, only on AG. AG don't have a vulnerable process list , hence doesn't alert for each them. AG just function by user and system space.

    Indeed , each modification of a file changes its hash. hash is a unique signature. you change one byte of the file hash will change.

    i understood why you requested it, but by asking it, you would reduce ERP effectiveness (the way the actual ERP manage it)
    from what Andreas said earlier , he will do it, some other softs can do it; so i guess ERP would do it too.
     
  12. defconoi

    defconoi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    @novirusthanks can you also update regguard service for Windows 10?
     
  13. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,420
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    But for those who don't use AppGuard, ERP Advanced>Vulnerable Processes is a possible mechanism for implementing the list by Excubits' Florian / Jeff ...
    Indeed we wouldn't want to compromise ERP effectiveness! I hope Andreas can work some magic.
     
  14. bberkey1

    bberkey1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    243
    Location:
    United States
    Welcome Back! Glad to hear the exciting news about NVT and of course anxious to test any new builds
     
  15. Elwe Singollo

    Elwe Singollo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    114
    Yeah, wow Shadow Defender like return from the wilderness just when most had given up. Welcome back. Hope this also means a future for other NVT products including my favourite Smart Object Blocker but will settle for Win 10 friendly (for me at least) ERP :).

    Cheers
     
  16. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,781
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Here we are.

    No one put much stock to when I mentioned he would make his return IN DUE TIME.

    Well, lookie who it would be :)

    Really looking forward to the NEW improvements! Oh, of course (I knew all along anyway) WELCOME BACK!!
     
  17. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,485
    yep, should be good.

    In the mean time, anyone on windows 10 who thinks ERP is not initiating properly at system startup, just look in your hidden icons. You will probably find it there. ERP likes to hide, but is always running.

    On an unrelated note, sometimes ERP will glitch out in a Standard Users Account. Hoping Andreas will fix that.
     
  18. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,485
    you should still get the regular prompt for a changed file, like you would even if it was not a vulnerable process.
     
  19. Alkajak

    Alkajak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Posts:
    125
    Should I accept the hype and hold my breath? The plans above sound like a lot of work, especially re-creating from scratch. When would a realistic ETA actually be for first alpha/beta build? Hoping to hear from @novirusthanks regarding progress.
     
  20. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,037
    Location:
    Mexico
    Perhaps NVT started rewriting the software since some time ago not just yesterday or a FEW days ago.
     
  21. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,781
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Andreas is surely aware that he has all this audience of fans to this NVT program (and others) that are pent up with even more anticipation than ever now.

    Microsoft sure didn't make it very easy on developers when they fudged up a bunch of things on the previous and last releases of the O/S.
     
  22. Alkajak

    Alkajak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Posts:
    125
    I hope that's the case. There has been a lot of chatter on Wilders regarding the future of this product, words like "abandonware" being thrown around frequently. It would be nice for the members here, as well as publicity for NVT, to keep us out of the dark. We're talking months of people recommending the switch from NVTERP to VoodooShield. If NVTERP 2.0 has been in development for some time now, it would've benefited them to speak up and stop us from assuming the software is dead.
     
  23. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,037
    Location:
    Mexico
    I think the versioning number would be 4.x since current one is 3.x.
     
  24. Alkajak

    Alkajak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Posts:
    125
    Clearly you're missing the point if the "2.0" figure of speech has you hung up.
     
  25. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,037
    Location:
    Mexico
    Ah ok it was a figure of speech, alright.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.