New anti spyware site

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by smikkel, Oct 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. smikkel

smikkel Registered Member

2. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

Hi smikkel,
    Congrats with your new AS website !!!
    I'm not an expert, but this website looks the same as yours.
    Is your list something else or is it double with this website ?
    http://castlecops.com/CLSID.html
    If it is a similar list, than everybody has to maintain TWO lists and maybe there are even more lists like that.
    If I'm wrong correct me :)

P.S.:
    http://castlecops.com/CLSID.html
    Currently 22127 entries and growing...

http://www.lansweeper.com/askdoctorguid/
    Your website counts 1163 entries.

Last edited: Oct 23, 2005
  3. ErikAlbert

4. (loggedoff)

(loggedoff) Guest

Just started yesterday with the database, the only guids are from my lansweeper software.
    I think a big advantage of this site is that the users can leave their own comment for a guid.
    If i say "Watch out, this is spyware" it will mean more to other users than just setting an X before al GUID.
    Castlecops only collects the BAD guids, I (try) to collect them all.

5. Bubba

Bubba Updates Team

First and foremost thanks for taking of your time to even create that page.
    No dis-respect to those that might leave a comment but that leaves it in the hands of the users to have to decide if those are legitimate comments....unless you are prepared to validate those comments :doubt:
    Actually....Castle Cops CLSID/BHO List/ Toolbar Master List contains the Good, Bad, Ugly....etc....compiled by some very respected Security Experts in this field.

6. ErikAlbert

Smikkel or loggedoff (?),
    I certainly agree with this remark.
    Leave malware up to security experts and not to internet users from nowhere, because you don't know who they are.