New and stuck

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by levi1923, Jun 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. levi1923

    levi1923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    It is probably right in front of me but... I have an HP dv9000 notebook and i am having trouble with my wireless so HP says i need to send it in and i need to back everything up. so i have never backed anything up and have no idea how to do it. i have another computer i can back it up to i think but i am unsure how to do this all. is there a step by step guide i can follow. i am not sure if i was doing it right but i was using the wizard and i got to Backup Archive Location and then i generate a name for a new file it gives me a file then i hit next and it says "u chose to save your aechive file to the same partition that is being backed up.....are u sure u want to continue with this procedure?" any help wuld be greatly appreciated. thank you in advance.
     
  2. levi1923

    levi1923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    i think i may have got some of this figured out... my next question tho is my notebook that i am trying to back up is vista and and the computer with the hard drive i want to back my stuff up to is xp... how do i get the laptop to see the computer? thank you again if these are dumb questions.
     
  3. levi1923

    levi1923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    ok so i think i got it working and i left for a while... when i came back i had an error... saying it had failed maybe because of poor media quality. i am trying to put it on the hard drive of my other computer. please please help. i need to send my laptop off asap. thank you
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Do you have a USB hard drive? If so, that's the easiest and probably the fastest solution.

    When you created the first backup image, you selected to save it to the laptop's drive (this is why you got the warning). Are you now trying to copy that file to the XP computer over the network or are you trying to save the backup image directly to the XP computer via WiFi using TI?

    How big is the image? Will it fit on a DVD?
     
  5. levi1923

    levi1923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    ummm im not sure if it is a usb hard drive... it is the hard drive in my PC. with the other questions im not sure how i know what i did. how do i find the size of the image? it wont fit on a dvd tho i dont think... i believe the hard drive is like 60gbo_O and the way i set it up is they are both conected to my router and the laptop(vista) seems to see the PC(xp) so i selected it and it started. what i think i am trying to do is save the image directly to the PC so that when the lap top is returned to me i can just put it right back on the way it is now. am i any where close to being able to do this and am i making any sence...:doubt: :doubt: o_O :oops:
     
  6. levi1923

    levi1923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    is there anyone around tonight that can help me please??
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I assume both the computers are connected with a network cable since the laptop is having WiFi problems.

    If you created a backup image that you saved to the laptop's hard drive (as in post 1), you would be able to check the size of the TIB file. Also, if you did create this backup, you wouldn't want it to still be on the drive when you did your network backup as it would be included and double the backup image size.

    If you're using TI 11, it has an option to lower the network speed if it's causing a problem.

    If the laptop supports burning DVDs, you could use TI to save the backup to DVDs. Just make sure TI can (at least) validate them when booted to the TI CD on the laptop.

    Another option is to create the backup image by saving it to the laptop's drive and then use Windows to copy the file over the network to the XP computer. Then boot to the TI CD on the laptop and make sure you can successfully validate the image on the XP computer.
     
  8. levi1923

    levi1923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    sorry this just sounds way too complicated.. i think i am going to try something else. thnakyou for your help
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.