New AIP Versions

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by napoleon1815, Jun 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    This thread can be used for all AIP Updates.

    "Rectiphy Corporation has posted a new build of ActiveImage Protector TM (3.0.3.686) for download. This latest build adds significant backup and restore speed improvements, scheduling improvements and other feature enhancements. Build 686 is available for all Window versions of ActiveImage Protector v3 including, AIP Desktop Edition, AIP Server Edition, AIP for Hyper-V with ReZoom, AIP Virtual Edition and AIP IT Pro Edition. The latest build download is available for free to all customers of ActiveImage Protector v3, customers with current software maintenance, Rectiphy Partners and product evaluators.

    ActiveImage Protector v3 was first released in April and included major enhancements to its entire family of live data, sector based, backup and restore solutions for physical machines and virtual environments. AIP 3.0 added features including Disk to Disk Copy, Bad Sector Skipping, the ability to restore image files to new virtual or physical locations and more.

    The latest build is available at Rectiphy’s download site. For immediate access to the download files please visit the download page or fill out the Try It form at http://rectiphy.com/try/ For questions or support information please email support@rectiphy.com."
     
  2. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    napoleon, thanks for the heads-up on the new AIP build. I'll be sure to check it out.

    Aaron
     
  3. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    still could not restore image to a smaller partition?
     
  4. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    I will ask support to see if they have this option on their radar.
     
  5. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    493
    Location:
    USA
    Being a noob at this, forgive me when I ask, why/when is that necessary? o_O
     
  6. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    It's not. All you need is a portable version of a partition management application on a dvd or usb drive. Some people want everything presented to them in a neat little bow though. The need to resize partitions is rare, but if you use the method above you'll have no issue regardless of imaging application ability.
     
  7. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    493
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the info, but why would that ever be necessary when doing a restore to the very same partition that was imaged in the first place?
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Scott,

    I think the most common situation is when folks replace a HD with a smaller HD.

    Occasionally I do it when I restore an OS image on my test computer and I don't have enough space to re-create the original partition. Some apps do it easily.
     
  9. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    Brian,

    You've got my point:D

    It is more convenient to restore to a smaller HDD or partition without replace to a bigger(or same size) or resize:D
     
  10. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    493
    Location:
    USA
    I understand, but I don't see how you can ever restore a backup to a partition that's smaller than the actual image (before compression)! :doubt:
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Scott,

    Let's say the partition is 100 GB.
    Let's say it contains 30 GB of data.
    Let's say the data is spread over the first 40 GB of sectors.

    An image of the 100 GB partition can be restored to a 40 GB partition if the imaging app is capable.
     
  12. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    493
    Location:
    USA
    I get it Brian, but I sure don't see a practical need for it. Like if I ever need to replace an old drive with a new one, chances are that the new one is going to be lots bigger!
     
  13. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    I've only restored to larger partitions myself...while I suppose it's nice to have the option to go smaller, there are so many good free and paid partition management apps out there I never hold this against an imaging app. I know it's been on the Storagecraft wish list for some time.
     
  14. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    When you try to deploy/restore to different computers(of course, with different size of HDD/partition), you will know the issues.:D

    Another is that, having better than haven't, when you need , you will find the importance.
     
  15. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    I have currently a non resolved issue with AIP Desktop 3, latest build (686) : on my Win7x64 system, after a few incrementals, the last one get corrupted, that is the virtual disk mounted from the last incremental image is not visible by explorer, and a chkdsk /v on this disk shows many errors. The original partition is perfectly fine. When I mount the incremental made just before, all works fine, so that's the last one which is bad.

    There was no special event on my Win7 system, and this has already happened 3 times or so.

    Anyone experiencing the same issue ? Rectiphy support receives all this information, but I got no feedback from them on this topic so far. They did solved a few issues and one typo I signalled, but since they provide no release note (couldn't fine one), it's difficult to day if this bug has been acknowledged.

    So far, I can only recommend Macrium.
     
  16. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    MerleOne,

    I haven't seen that issue but I can try to reproduce it this weekend. Hopefully you'll hear something from support. I like Macrium...very flexible...but I hope no one has been holding their breath for v5. Looking forward to that though.
     
  17. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    This issue appeared at random, but 3 times at least, always on my system partition. It could be great if you could perform a full backup (using a schedule) then regular incrementals, and try to mount the last incremental image afterwards. It may take a fews days before the issue arises, if of course it does arise.

    Thanks !
     
  18. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Rectiphy is now offering a FREE* ActiveImage Personal Edition!

    * you must register your email address in order to receive a free product key.

    Enjoy!

    Aaron
     
  19. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    can someone who bought this desktop edition tell me about the lic'ing. is it like sp and macrium where they lock the key to that machine and you need to "remove" the key before uninstall or is it simply a lic key as ifw and others. i have many clients who will NEVER remove the key before uninstall or they need to restore etc and they have got stuck in contact with sp and even macrium in the past. thanks!

    also looks like the main difference between paid and free is the winpe disc?

    edit also can this do a differential? or only incr. backups? and can anyone post the running procc's you have and ram usage it seems high in the test download i installed?

    and lastly if there is no schedule set anyway to close the program instead of it going to the taskbar and running in the backround?

    thanks
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2011
  20. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    1/ It seems to be online activated, I currently have 2 licenses, activated one. I guess you have to contact technical suport when moving the license, but I have not done it yet.
    2/ I am downloding the Free .iso now, and it looks like WinPE, because of the size. [Edited : it is a Linux version, it's visible once the download is done and on the feature tab from the link you indicated!!!]
    3/ Comparison chart says it does diff backup, but I don"t see how. And even incrementals are to be done once a schedule is defined. Once defined, you may also perform incrementals manually.

    The real plus of AIP is that is constantly monitors sector changes (no load impact, even on a slow machine), so there is no comparison phase and it's very speedy.

    I however have a major issue with it : on a XP pro system, it does work fine, on a Win7x64 system, it only works fine for the data partition, but incremental images for the OS partition get corrupt after a few iterations, rending the image useless. I have reported this issue, but got no answer from them. So my advice is : should you use it, do check you images, not by the included check image feature, but by mounting the image. When corrupt, the virtual partition refuses to be explored and a chkdsk on it shows many errors.

    Also, if you crash your system, the sector monitoring will be interrupted, and then you're good for a full disk backup again.

    Lastly, not sure about what you mean by your last question.

    And about RAM and system load, I have no figures, but it seems ok, and anyway it's not that important. Image reliability is the real issue here.
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2011
  21. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    Great ! Already got my license... May I ask how you found about it ?
     
  22. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    It is a good marketing strategy, and it seems they are going at ShadowProtect.

    By giving away free to individuals:

    1. They are gaining the loyalty of individuals.

    2. They are ironing out any problems with the software and/or bugs.

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  23. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    facebook ;)
     
  24. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    Thanks. I should spend more time on FB ;-)
     
  25. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i deal with a lot of business' that do not use the internet including dentist office's etc due to the things they have to follow with cust info. this is why i need a good EASY (or i would prob recc ifw) to let them do daily incrementals etc. but with no internet service they need something they can activate without the internet. if anyone is in direct contact with them can you ask this for me? or where should i send question to? thank you

     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.